Print this page

FNE at KVIFF 2016: Prize Winners

Written by
It's Not The Time Of My Life by Szabolcs Hajdu It's Not The Time Of My Life by Szabolcs Hajdu photo:

KARLOVY VARY: The 51st Karlovy Vary International Film Festival, which was held from 1-9 July 2016, awarded its top prize the Crystal Globe to the Hungarian film It’s Not the Time of My Life directed by Szabolcs Hajdu. Best Director went to Damjan Kozole for the Slovenia, Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovina coproduction Nightlife.

The FIPRESCI international critics award went to the German film Original Bliss directed by Sven Taddicken, while the FNE FIPRESCI Critics ratings gave its highest score to Kozole’s Nightlife with a rating of 3.3 out of a possible five.

There were a total of 200 films screened for 135,105 viewers with a total of 138,341 tickets sold. There were 21 world premieres, while 25 had their international premiere during the festival.


Grand Prix Crystal Globe
It's Not the Time of My Life / Ernelláék Farkaséknál (Hungary)     
Directed by Szabolcs Hajdu

Special Jury Prize
Zoology / Zoologiya (Russia, France, Germany)
Directed by Ivan I Tverdovskiy

Best Director
Damjan Kozole for Nightlife / Nočno življenje (Slovenia, Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Produced by Vertigo
Coproduced by Sisters and Brother Mitevski, Sarajevo Center for Contemporary Art
Supported by the Slovenian Film Center, Macedonian Film Agency, Film Fund Sarajevo, Viba film

Best Actress
Zuzana Mauréry for The Teacher / Učiteľka (Slovakia, Czechia)
Directed by Jan Hřebejk
Produced by PubRes
Coproduced by OFFSIDE MEN, RTVS, Czech Television
Supported by the Slovak Audiovisual Fund, State Cinematography Fund, Ministry of Culture of Slovak Republic

Best Actor
Szabolcs Hajdu for It's Not the Time of My Life / Ernelláék Farkaséknál (Hungary)
Directed by Szabolcs Hajdu

Special Jury Mention
By the Rails / Dincolo de calea ferată (Romania, Sweden)
Directed by Cătălin Mitulescu
Produced by Strada Film
Coproduced by Apapaja
Supported by Romanian CNC, TVRomania, Trentino Film Commission

Special Jury Mention
The Wolf from Royal Vineyard Street / Vlk z Královských Vinohrad (Czechia, Slovakia)
Directed by Jan Němec
Produced by Masterfilm
Coproduced by Czech Television, Media Film, Bocalupo Films
Supported by State Cinematography Fund, Slovak Audiovisual Fund

East of the West Competition:

Grand Prix
House of Others / Skhvisi sakhli (Georgia, Russia, Spain, Croatia)
Directed by Rusudan Glurjidze
Produced by Liga Productions
Coproduced by Cinetech Ltd, Kinoskopik SL, Embrio

Special Jury Prize
The Days That Confused / Päevad, mis ajasid segadusse (Estonia)
Directed by Triin Ruumet
Produced by Kinosaurus Film

Documentary Films Competition:

Best Documentary Film
Love True (USA)
Directed by Alma Har'el         

Special Jury Mention
Ama-San (Portugal, Switzerland, Japan)
Directed by Cláudia Varejão

Pravo Audience Award
Captain Fantastic (USA)
Directed by Matt Ross

Crystal Globe for Oustanding Artistic Contribution to World Cinema
Willem Dafoe

Festival President’s Award
Jean Reno
Charlie Kaufman

Festival President’s Award for Contribution to Czech Cienmatography
Jiřina Bohdalová

Non-Statutory Awards:

FIPRESCI Award of International Film Critics
Original Bliss / Gleißendes Glück (Germany)
Directed by Sven Taddicken

Ecumenical Jury Award
The Confessions / Le confessioni (Italy, France)
Directed by Roberto Andò

Collector / Kollektor (Russia)
Directed by Alexei Krasovskiy

Europa Cinemas Label Award
Best European Film
Original Bliss / Gleißendes Glück (Germany)
Directed by Sven Taddicken