FNE at KVIFF 2017: Prize Winners: CEE Films Sweep Awards

Written by
Little Crusader by Václav Kadrnka Little Crusader by Václav Kadrnka

KARLOVY VARY: The Czech/Slovak and Italian coproduction Little Crusader directed by Václav Kadrnka took home the Crystal Globe and a cash prize of 25,000 USD at the 52 Karlovy Vary International Film Festival held from 30 June to 8 July in Czech spa town of Karlovy Vary.

Films from Central and Eastern Europe made a clean sweep of all top awards in the main competition with productions and coproductions from Czechia, Slovakia, Poland, Romania, Russia, Georgia, Ukraine, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovenia, Croatia taking home all the top prizes. Critics and festival goers agreed it was a bumper year for talent in the region.

The FIPRESCI International Critics Prize went to Keep the Change (USA) directed by Rachel Israel, while the hotly followed daily ratings of the films in the Main Competition and East of the West organised by FNE and FIPRESCI gave its highest marks in the main competition to the German/Israeli film The Cakemaker directed by Ofir Raul Graizer and in the East of the West the top film was the Georgian film Dede, a coproduction with Qatar, Ireland, Netherlands and Croatia directed by Mariam Khatchvani. To see how the FNE Critics rated the films click HERE.

Full list of KVIFF Prize Winners

Main Competition

Crystal Globe for Best Film
Little Crusader (Czechia, Slovakia)
Directed by Václav Kadrnka
Produced by Sirius Films
Coproduced by Artileria and Tempesta
Supported by the Czech State Cinematography Fund, the Slovak Audiovisual Fund, the Apulia Film Commission and the Sardegna Film Commission

Special Jury Prize
Men Don’t Cry / Muškarci ne plaču (Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovenia, Croatia, Germany)
Directed by Alen Drljević
Produced by Deblokada Sarajevo
Coproduced by Iridium Film, This and That, Menderley Films, Produkcija Živa and Cineplanet
Supported by Foundation of Cinematography Sarajevo, Slovenian Film Centre, ZDF/Arte TV, MEDIA, Ministry of Culture and Sport of Kanton Sarajevo, CineLink Market

The Line by Peter BebjakBest Director
Peter Bebjak for The Line / Čiara (Slovak Republic, Ukraine)
Produced by Wandal Production
Coproduced by: Garnet International Media Group (UA), Rozhlas a televízia Slovenska (SK), HomeMedia Production (SK), Martin Kohút (SK)
Supported by: Audiovizuálny fondCreative Europe Ukrainian State Film AgencyMinisterstvo kultúry SR, Bratislavský samosprávny kraj

Best Actress
Jowita Budnik and Eliane Umuhire for Birds Are Singing in Kigali / Ptaki śpiewają w Kigali (Poland)
Directed by Joanna Kos-Krauze, Krzysztof Krauze
Produced by KOSFILM Joanna Kos-Krauze
Coproduced by TVP, Odra-film, Narodowe Centrum Kultury, Studio A
Supported by the Polish Film Institute

Best Actor
Alexander Yatsenko for Arrhythmia / Aritmiya (Russia, Finland, Germany)
Directed by Boris Khlebnikov

Special Jury Mention
For the best First Feature Film
Keep the Change (USA)
Directed by Rachel Israel

Special Jury Mention
For the Best Newcomer
Voica Oltean, actress in Breaking News (Romania)
Directed by Iulia Rugină
Produced by Hai–Hui Entertainment
Coproduced by Libra Film Production
Supported by the Romanian Film Centre

East of the West Competition

Best Film
How Viktor “the Garlic” Took Alexey “the Stud” to the Nursing Home / Kak Vitka Chesnok vez Lecha Shtyrya v dom invalidov (Russia)
Directed by Alexander Hant

Special Jury Prize
Dede by Mariam KhatchvaniDede (Georgia, Qatar, Ireland, Netherlands, Croatia)
Directed by Mariam Khatchvani
Produced by 20 Steps
Coproduced by Film and Music Entertainment, MP Film Production, Montauk Film Production, and JaJa Film Productions.
Supported by the Doha Film Institute and the Georgian National Film Centre

Documentary Competition

Lots of Kids, a Monkey and a Castle / Muchos hijos, un mono y un Castillo (Spain)
Directed by Gustavo Salmerón         

Special Jury Prize
Atelier de conversation (Austria, France, Liechtenstein)
Directed by Bernhard Braunstein

Pravo Audience Award
Wind River (USA)
Directed by Taylor Sheridan

Crystal Globe for Outstanding Artistic Contribution to World Cinema
Ken Loach

Crystal Globe for Outstanding Artistic Contribution to World Cinema
Paul Laverty

Crystal Globe for Outstanding Artistic Contribution to World Cinema
James Newton Howard

Festival President’s Award
Uma Thurman

Festival President’s Award
Casey Affleck

Festival President’s Award
Jeremy Renner

Festival President’s Award for Contribution to Czech Cinematography
Václav Vorlíček

Non-Statutory Awards

FIPRESCI Award of International Film Critics
Keep the Change (USA)
Directed by Rachel Israel

Ecumenical Jury Award
The Cakemaker (Israel, Germany)
Directed by Ofir Raul Graizer

FEDEORA Award Federation of Film Critics of Europe and the Mediterranean

Best film from the East of the West Competition
Mariţa (Romania)
Directed by Cristi Iftime
Produced by HiFilm Productions
Coproduced by deFilm

Special Mention
Blue Silence (Turkey, Belgium)
Directed by Bülent Öztürk

Europa Cinemas Label Award
Best Film
Men Don’t Cry / Muškarci ne plaču (Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovenia, Croatia, Germany)
Directed by Alen Drljević