The Communion and Loving Vincent Win European Documentary, Animated Feature Film 2017

Written by
Communion by Anna Zamecka Communion by Anna Zamecka

WARSAW: Anna Zamecka’s The Communion was awarded European Documentary and Loving Vincent by Dorota Kobiela and Hugh Welchman was awarded European Animated Feature Film 2017 at the 30th European Film Awards announced in Berlin on 9 December 2017.

At the same ceremony Poland’s Katarzyna Lewińska was awarded European Costume Designer for Agnieszka Holland’s Spoor and Hungary’s Alexandra Borbély received the European Actress Award for On Body and Soul directed by Ildiko Enyedi

The big winner of the gala was The Square, directed by Ruben Östlund, awarded in six categories including European Film and European Comedy.

More than 3,000 members of the European Film Academy voted for this year’s European Film Awards.


European Film 2017:
The Square (Sweden, Germany, France, Denmark, USA)
Directed by Ruben Östlund

European Comedy 2017:
The Square
Directed by Ruben Östlund

European Discovery 2017 – Prix FIPRESCI:
Lady Macbeth (UK)
Directed by William Oldroyd

European Documentary 2017:
The Communion (Poland)
Directed by Anna Zamecka
Produced by Otter Films
Coproduced by HBO Europe and Wajda Studio

European Animated Feature Film 2017:
Loving Vincent (UK, Poland)
Directed by Dorota Kobiela and Hugh Welchman
Produced by BreakThru Films and Trademark Films

European Short Film 2017:
Timecode (Spain)
Directed by Juanjo Giménez

Loving Vincent by Dorota KobielaEuropean Director 2017:
Ruben Östlund for The Square

European Actress 2017:
Alexandra Borbély for On Body and Soul (Hungary)
Directed by Ildiko Enyedi

European Actor 2017:
Claes Bang for The Square

European Screenwriter 2017:
Ruben Östlund for The Square

European Cinematographer 2017 – Prix Carlo Di Palma:
Michail Krichman for Loveless  (Russia, France, Germany, Belgium)
Directed by Andrey Zvyagintsev

The Square by Ruben ÖstlundEuropean Editor 2017:
Robin Campillo for BPM (Beats per Minute) (France)
Directed by Robin Campillo

European Production Designer 2017:
Josefin Åsberg for The Square
Directed by Ruben Östlund

European Costume Designer 2017:
Katarzyna Lewińska for Spoor / Pokot (Poland / Germany / Sweden / Czech Republic / Slovakia)
Directed by Agnieszka Holland
Produced by TOR Film Production
Coproduced by Heimatfilm GmbH, Chimney Group and Nutprodukce, nutprodukcia
Supported by the Polish Film Institute, the Czech State Cinematography Fund, Eurimages, the Slovak Audiovisual Fund, the Swedish Film Institute, the MEDIA Programme and the Polish-German Co-Development Fund

European Hair & Make-up Artist 2017:
Leendert van Nimwegen for Brimstone (Netherlands, France, Germany, Belgium, Sweden, UK, USA)
Directed by Martin Koolhoven

European Composer 2017:
Evgueni & Sacha Galperine for Loveless
Directed by Andrey Zvyagintsev

Spoor by Agnieszka HollandEuropean Sound Designer 2017:
Oriol Tarragó for A Monster Calls  (UK, Spain, USA)
Directed by J.A. Bayona

European Film Academy Lifetime Achievement Award:
Aleksandr Sokurov

European Achievement in World Cinema:
Julie Delpy

European Co-Production Award 2017 – Prix Eurimages:
Cedomir Kolar

People’s Choice Award 2017 for Best European Film:
Stefan Zweig – Farewell to Europe / Vor des Morgenröte (Austria, Germany, France)
Directed by Maria Schrader