unnamed 1 film new europe dynamic banner dok incubator deadline 2020 460x100px RGB

Silent Night Dominates 2018 Polish Eagles Featured

Silent Night by Piotr Domalewski Silent Night by Piotr Domalewski

WARSAW: Piotr Domalewski’s debut feature Silent Night won ten awards out of 11 nominations for the Polish Film Awards - The Eagles, that celebrated their 20th anniversary in Warsaw on 26 March 2018.

 "I am overwhelmed and I'd like to thank the Academy again. These awards have a special meaning, because they come from my fellow filmmakers who know what it takes to make a film and who love watching cinema", director Piotr Domalewski told FNE.

The winning films were chosen from among 61 feature films released in Polish cinemas in 2017 and 48 documentaries. The members of the Polish Film Academy voted from 12 January 2018 to 3 February 2018.

"As we celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Polish Film Awards - The Eagles I am encouraging our filmmakers to keep on going and to not forget their artistic freedom, because it is the independent thought and passion that caused the great development of Polish cinema that we've been observing for the last 20 years", Dariusz Jabłoński, the President of the Polish Film Academy told FNE. During the gala the Polish Film Academy announced that Dariusz Jabłoński was re-elected as the Academy President for another term.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Polish actor, director and film professor Jerzy Stuhr by his son Maciej Stuhr, who was hosting the gala.

The Polish Film Awards - The Eagles have been organised by the Independent Film Foundation since 1999. They are considered to be the Polish equivalent of American Oscars, French Césars and British BAFTA awards. The films are chosen by over 600 members of the Polish Film Academy in a two-step vote.

The  Polish Eagles Ceremony was broadcast by CANAL+.


Best Film:

Silent Night / Cicha noc (Poland)
Directed by Piotr Domalewski
Produced by Munk Studio - Polish Filmmakers Association
Supported by the Polish Film Institute, the Warmia and Mazury Film Fund

Best Director:

Piotr Domalewski for Silent Night

Best Script:

Piotr Domalewski for Silent Night

Best Actress:

Magdalena Boczarska for Art of Love
Directed by Maria Sadowska
Produced by Watchout Productions
Coproduced by TVN S.A., Orange S.A., Agora S.A.
Supported by the Polish Film Institute
Best Actor:

Dawid Ogrodnik for Silent Night

Best Supporting Actress:

Agnieszka Suchora for Silent Night

Best Supporting Actor:

Akadiusz Jakubik for Silent Night

Best Cinematography:

Piotr Sobociński Jr. for Silent Night

Best Editing:

Dorota Kobiela, Justyna Wierszyńska for Loving Vincent
Directed by Dorota Kobiela, Hugh Welchman
Produced by Breakthru Films, Trademark Films
Supported by the Polish Film Institute, CETA, Odra Film, Silver Reel, Cinema and Management Group, European Capital of Culture Wrocław 2016, MEDIA

Best Costume Design:

Cristobal Pidre, Florence Scholtes, Małgorzata Zacharska for Marie Curie / Maria Skłodowska – Curie (Poland, Belgium, France, Germany)
Directed by Marie Noëlle
Produced by P’Artisan Filmproduktion, Pokromski Studio, Sepia Production
Supported by the Polish Film Institute

Best Sound:

Jerzy Murawski, Kacper Habisiak, Marcin Kasiński for Silent Night

Best Music:

Radzimir Dębski for Art of Love

Best Art Direction:

Matthew Button, Piotr Dominiak for Loving Vincent

Discovery of the Year:

Piotr Domalewski for directing Silent Night

Best Drama Series:

The Pack / Wataha, season 2 (Poland)
Directed by Kasia Adamik, Jan P. Matuszyński
Produced by ATM Grupa
Broadcaster HBO Polska
Best Documentary:

21 x New York
Driected by Piotr Stasik
Produced by Lava Films
Supported by the Polish Film Institute

Best European Film:

The Square (Sweden, Germany, France, Denmark)
Directed by Ruben Ostlund

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Jerzy Stuhr

Audience Award: Silent Night


OSCAR 2020


rusian longtext



baner 325x230 ekran 2019

pobrane 2

unnamed 25

DVR banner 325x230

CEE Animation Forum CALL banner







Fne UnicUpdateNEW