fne corona 2


Pawlikowski’s Cold War Sweeps Top Prizes at European Film Awards Featured

Cold War by Paweł Pawlikowski Cold War by Paweł Pawlikowski photo: Łukasz Bąk

SEVILLE: Paweł Pawlikowski’s Cold War won awards for best European film, director, scriptwriter, actress and editor at the 31st European Film Awards. The European animated feature film award went to Polish majority coproduction Another Day of Life by Raul de la Fuente and Damian Nenow, at the gala organised by the European Film Academy in Seville, Spain on 15 December 2018.

The German/French/Polish coproduction The Captain / Der Hauptmann by Robert Schwentke was awarded for sound design.

Romanian actress Anamaria Marinca was among the six European actors and actresses leading the gala, while Slovak/Hungarian actress Alexandra Borbély and Czech actress Anna Geislerová were among the personalities announcing and presenting the winners.

Happy as Lazzaro by Alice Rohrwacher received the European University Film Award 2018 from the EFA and Filmfest Hamburg, on 14 December 2018, at the welcome reception in the framework of the EFA Weekend in Seville.

Eighteen films from CEE were among the 49 films chosen for the EFA Feature Film Selection.


European Film: Cold War / Zimna Wojna (Poland, UK, France)
Directed by Paweł Pawlikowski
Produced by Opus Film
Coproduced by Apocalypso Pictures
Supported by the Polish Film Institute, MK2 Films, Film4, British Film Institute, Eurimages 

European Comedy: The Death of Stalin / La mort de Staline (France, UK, Belgium)
Directed by Armando Ianucci

European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI: Girl (Belgium, the Netherlands)
Directed by Lukas Dhont

European Documentary: Bergman – A Year in a Life / Ett ar, ett liv (Sweden, Germany)
Directed by Jane Magnusson

European Animated Feature Film: Another Day of Life (Poland, Spain, Belgium, Germany, Hungary)
Directed by Raul de la Fuente, Damian Nenow
Produced by Platige Films, Kanaki Films
Coproduced by Walking the Dog, Wüste Film, Animationfabrik, Pupperworks
Supported by the Polish Film Institute

European Short Film: The Years / Gli anni (Italy, France)
Directed by Sara Fgaier

European Director: Paweł Pawlikowski for Cold War

European Actress: Joanna Kulig for Cold War
Directed by Paweł Pawlikowski

European Actor: Marcello Fonte for Dogman (Italy, France)
Directed by Matteo Garrone

European Screenwriter: Paweł Pawlikowski for Cold War
Directed by Paweł Pawlikowski

European Cinematographer – Prix Carlo di Palma: Martin Otterbeck for U- July 22 / Utøya 22. Juli (Norway)
Directed by Erik Poppe

European Editor: Jarosław Kamiński for Cold War
Directed by Paweł Pawlikowski

European Production Designer: Andrey Ponkratov for The Summer / Leto (Russia, France)
Directed by Kirill Serebrennikov

European Costume Designer: Massimo Cantini Parrini for Dogman
Directed by Matteo Garrone

European Hair &Make-up Artist: Lorenzo Tamburini, Dalia Colli, Daniela Tartari for Dogman
Directed by Matteo Garrone

European Composer: Christoph M. Kaiser, Julian Maas for 3 Days in Quiberon /3 Tage in Quiberon (Germany, France, Austria)
Directed by Emily Atef

European Sound Designer: Andre Bendocchi-Alves, Martin Steyer for The Captain / Der Hauptmann (German, France, Poland)
Directed by Robert Schwentke
Produced by Filmgalerie 451, Alfama Films, Opus Film
Coproduced by Facing East, Worst Case Entertainment, Hands-on Producers, Maria Films

European Visual Effects Supervisor: Peter Hjorth for Border / Gräns (Sweden, Denmark)
Directed by Ali Abbasi

EFA Lifetime Achievement Award: Carmen Maura

European Achievement in World Cinema: Ralph Fiennes

People’s Choice Award: Call Me By Your Name (Italy, France)
Directed by Luca Guadagnino

Eurimages Co-production Award: Konstantinos Kontovrakis, Giorgos Karnavas

Honourary Award of the EFA President and Board: Costa-Gavras


Fne UnicUpdateNEW


rusian longtext