Polish Filmmakers Receive Presidential Awards

Written by Katarzyna Grynienko

WARSAW: Directors Jerzy Skolimowski and Jan Jakub Kolski, and actress Krystyna Janda were among the Polish film professionals who the Polish president awarded at a ceremony 18 January 2011 in Krakow.

Polish actress Maja Komorowska was decorated with Great Cross Order of Rebirth of Poland. Jerzy Skolimowski and actors Janusz Gajos, Krystyna Janda, Anna Polony and Jerzy Trela recieved the Comandor Cross Order of the Rebith Of Poland. The Officer Cross of the Rebirth of Poland was given to Jan Jakub Kolski.

Several other members of the art and culture community were also decorated with presidental awards including the Director of the Polish Film Insitute (wwwpisf.pl) Agnieszka Odorowicz, director and head of the Polish Filmmakers Association (www.sfp.org.com) Jacek Bromski, and directors Agnieszka Holland and Krzysztof Krauze.

The awards were the first orders given to representatives of the arts by the recently chosen President Bronisław Komorowski. The ceremony continues an old tradition of Polish Presidents recognizing the importance of Polish culture and its development.