FPFF44 baner NewEurope 460x100 biaff FNE 2019 copy

FNE at Cannes 2018: Cannes Prize Winners Featured


CANNES: The 71st  Cannes Film Festival held from 9 to 20 May awarded its top prize the Palme d’Or to the Japanese film Shoplifters directed by Hirokazu Kore-eda. Poland scored twice in the main competition prize lineup with Cold War, a Polish/UK/French coproduction that won the Best Director prize for Pawel Pawlikowski, and as a coproducer of Ayka directed by Sergey Dvortsevoy, which won a prize for Samal Yeslyamova as Best Actress.

Paweł PawlikowskiRomania was a coproducer of the Sergei Loznitsa’s Donbass (Germany, France, Ukraine, Romania, Netherlands, UK), which won the Best Director prize in the Certain Regard.

The FIPRESCI International Critics awarded its top prize for best film in the main competition to Burning (South Korea) directed by Lee Chang-Dong.

The FNE FIPRESCI Critics ratings for the main Competition, Certain Regard, Directors’ Fortnight and Critics Week can be seen HERE.

Main Competition

Feature Films

Palme d'Or
Shoplifters (Japan)
Directed by Hirokazu Kore-eda

Special Palme d'Or
The Image Book (Switzerland, France)
Directed by Jean-Luc Godard

Grand Prix (USA)
Directed by Spike Lee

Best Director
Pawel Pawlikowski for Cold War (Poland, UK, France)
Produced by Apocalypso Pictures, Opus Film, MK Productions
Supported by Polish Film Institute
Sales: MK2 Films, Protagonist Pictures

Best Actress
Samal Yeslyamova for Ayka (Russia, Poland, Germany, Kazakhstan, China)
Directed by Russian Sergey Dvortsevoy
Coproduced by Otter Films in Poland
Supported in the Polish Film Institute

Best Actor
Marcello Fonte for Dogman (Italy, France)
Directed by Matteo Garrone

Best Screenplay (ex-aequo)
Alice Rohrwacher for Happy as Lazzaro (Italy, Switzerland, France, Germany)
Directed by Alice Rohrwacher
Jafar Panahi for Three Faces (Iran)
Directed by Jafar Panahi

Jury Prize
Capharnaüm (Lebanon, France)
Directed by Nadine Labaki

Caméra d'Or
Girl (Belgium, Netherlands)
Directed by Lukas Dhont

Palme d'Or for Best Short Film
All These Creatures (Australia)
Directed by Charles Williams

Special Mention
On the Border (China)
Directed by Wei Shujun

Camera D’Or
Girl (Belgium, Netherlands)
Directed by Lukas Dhont

Vulcain Prize for Artist-Technician
Shin Joom-Hee for Burning (South Korea)
Directed by Lee Chang-Dong

Golden Eye (Best Documentary)
Samouni Road (Italy)
Directed by Stafano Savona

Special Mention
The Eyes of Orson Welles (UK)
Directed by Mark Cousins
To the Four Winds (France)
Directed by Michel Toesca

Certain Regard

Best Film
Border (Sweden, Denmark)
Directed by Ali Abbasi

Best Screenplay
Meryem Benm’Barek for Sofia (France, Belgium, Qatar)
Directed by Meryem Benm'barek

Jury Prize for Best Performance
Victor Polster for Girl (Belgium, Netherlands)
Directed by Lukas Dhont

Best Director
Sergei Loznitsa for Donbass (Germany, France, Ukraine, Romania, Netherlands, UK)
Produced by Ma.ja.de. Fiction in coproduction with Ukraine’s Arthouse Traffic, France’s JBA Production, Dutch Graniet Film, Dutch Wild at Art, Romania’s Digital Cube, associate producer Atoms & Void
Supported by Eurimages and the CNC’s World Cinema Support
Sales: Pyramide International

Special Jury Prize
The Dead and the Others (Brazil, Portugal)
Directed by João Salaviza, Renée Nader Messora


First Prize
The Summer of the Electric Lion / El verano del león electric (Chile)
Directed by Diego Céspedes

Second Prize (ex-aequo)
Kalendar (Russia)
Directed by Igor Poplauhin
The Storms In Our Blood / Dong wu xiong meng (China)
Directed by Shen Di

Third Prize
Inanimate (UK)
Directed by Lucia Bulgheroni

Directors Fortnight

Europa Cinemas Label
Lucia’s Grace (Italy)
Directed by Gianni Zanasi

SACD Award
The Trouble With You (France)
Directed by Pierre Salvadori

Art Cinema Award
Climax (France, Belgium)
Directed by Gaspar Noé

Short Film Award
Skip Day (USA)
Directed by Ivete Lucas, Patrick Bresnan

Critics Week

Nespresso Grand Prize
Diamantino (Portugal, France, Brazil)
Directed by Gabriel Abrantes, Daniel Schmidt

Leica Cine Discovery Prize for Short Film
Hector Malot: The Last Day of the Year (Greece)
Directed by Jacqueline Lentzou

Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award
Félix Maritaud for Sauvage (France)
Directed by Camille Vidal-Naquet

Gan Foundation Award for Distribution
Sir (India, France)
Directed by Rohena Gera

SACD Award
Woman at War (Iceland, France, Ukraine)
Directed by Benedikt Erlingsson, Ólafur Egill Egilsson

Canal+ Award for Short Film
A Wedding Day (Algeria, France)
Directed by Elias Belkeddar


FIPRESCI Prize in the Competition
Burning (South Korea)
Directed by Lee Chang-Dong

FIPRESCI Prize in Un Certain Regard
Girl (Belgium, Netherlands)
Directed by Lukas Dhont

FIPRESCI Prize in the parallel sections
One Day (Hungary)
Directed by Zsófia Szilágyi

Prize of the Ecumenical Jury
Capharnaüm (Lebanon, France)
Directed by Nadine Labaki

Special Mention
BlacKkKlansman (USA)
Directed by Spike Lee

rusian longtext


Fne UnicUpdateNEW