FNE at Portoroz Slovenian FF 2013: More Scouting Mischief Leads to Laughs

"Going Our Way 2", dir. Miha Hočevar "Going Our Way 2", dir. Miha Hočevar

PORTOROZ: The most successful domestic film in the history of Slovenian cinema has finally had its highly anticipated sequel, screening at the 16th Portoroz fest, running 11-15 September. As implied by the numeral added to the original title, the film builds on the same style of light family comic elements that contributed to the success of the original.

Going Our Way 2 follows the adventures of young scouts spending summer at a camp in the middle of the idyllic Slovene Alps. Because the heroes from the first film, Aleks, Jaka and Sleepyhead, are almost grown up now, the scout leader charges them with new responsibilities and assignments that also involve taking care of a group of mischievous 10-year-olds, which proves to be quite a feat.

At the same time, a group of scouts from another region builds a camp on the neighboring meadow, much to the annoyance of the grumpy scout leader, who decides to go on an offensive. But what threatens to blow up into a war turns into something completely different with the arrival of a pestering inspector who wants to enforce strict new rules on the freewheeling scouts, providing all with a common enemy.

Going was produced by Vertigo Emotionfilm with an expected budget of  1,534,241 EUR,  730,000 EUR of which was contributed by the Slovenian Film Center.

Production information
Production company: Vertigo Emotionfilm
Co-funding: Slovenian Film Center
Director: Miha Hočevar
Screenwriter: Miha Hočevar
Producer: Daniel Hočevar
DoP: Simon Tanšek
Editors: Andrija Zafranović, Jurij Moškon
Music: Davor Herceg
Sound recordist: Gašper Loborec
Sound design: Julij Zornik
Set designer: Miha Ferkov
Costume designer: Katja Hrobat
Makeup: Mojca Gorogranc Petrushevska
Cast:  Jurij Zrnec, Tadej Toš, Tadej Koren Šmid, Jure Kreft, Matevž Štular, Uroš Kaurin, Luka Cimpri, Jana Zupančič, Mateja Pucko, Sabina Kogovšek, Sandi Pavlin, Milena Zupančič, Larisa Lara Pohorec, Klemen Kotar, Zala Linea Ruta, Mohor Pleničar, Jon Kokovnik, Erik Oprešnik, Vili Frahm