European Capital of Culture Tallinn 2011 cooperates with Black Nights Film Festival


    16 November 2011

    European Capital of Culture Tallinn 2011 cooperates with Black Nights Film Festival

    The 15th Black Nights Film Festival (PÖFF) and Tallinn 2011 present during this year’s festival a new international animation training event and films by world’s top directors.

    AnimaCampus Tallinn is a brand new networking platform and training event for up-and-coming young filmmakers working in the field of animation. The five-day creative summit takes place during the year of European Capital of Culture in parallel with the Animation Film Festival Animated Dreams, the sub-festival of Tallinn Black Nights Film Festival. Among others Tallinn welcomes this week a member of a known Japanese indie-anima group Nobuaki Doi, the creator of smartphone app Angry Birds, the head of animation department of the Finnish Rovio Entertainment Nick Dorra and representatives of film studios from Sweden, Denmark, UK and Germany. AnimaCampus will finish on Saturday 19th November. See more: http://2011.anima.ee/eng

    Just as in earlier years Tallinn 2011 supports the international film market Black Market aimed at film industry professionals – makers, distributers, producers - and focusing on films from Central and Eastern European and Nordic countries, Russia, Georgia, Ukraine, Romania, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Tadzhikistan, Azerbaidzhan.

    See more: http://market.poff.ee.

    In addition Tallinn 2011 supports the screenings of a dozen films by nominees of this year’s European Film Academy awards, among them candidates for best film „The Artist“ (France), “Le Gamin au Vélo“ (Belgium/France/Italy), „Hævnen“ (Denmark), „Le Havre“ (Finland/France/Germany), „The King’s Speech“ (UK) and „Melancholia“ (Denmark/Sweden/France/Germany). A year ago EFA awards gala took place in Tallinn to celebrate the European Capital of Culture title, this year the awards will be announced in the beginning of December in Berlin. See more: http://2011.poff.ee/eng/films/programmid.c/tallinn-2011-presents-efa-2011-nominees-at-poff

    Also at PÖFF – there is a special programme of filmmakers who will be part of one of the most exciting closing events of the European Capital of Culture – the audio-visual installation ’60 Seconds of Solitude in Year Zero’. This special programme will present the new films of Naomi Kawase (Japan), Michael Glawogger (Austria), Jeon Kyu-hwan (South Korea), Friðrik Þór Friðriksson (Iceland), Aki Kaurismäki (Finland), Amir Naderi (Iran/USA), Michael Winterbottom (UK) and Rainer Sarnet (Estonia).

    See more: http://2011.poff.ee/eng/films/programmid.c/60-seconds-of-solitude-in-year-zero

    Maris Hellrand

    International Communications Manager

    Foundation Tallinn 2011

    +372 56 2011 18, +372 641 2011

    skype: marishellrand

    Pärnu mnt. 8/Väike-Karja 9, 10148 Tallinn

    The latest news from the European Capital of Culture at http://www.tallinn2011.ee/eng