European Film Academy : EFA eNEWS


The European Film Academy proudly announces and congratulates the three nominees for the EFA Young Audience Award 2014:

DIRECTED BY: Martin Miehe-Renard
WRITTEN BY: Martin Miehe-Renard, Gitte Løkkegaard & Hans Hansen
PRODUCED BY: Henrik Møller-Sørensen & Marcella Dichmann
90 min, Denmark

DIRECTED BY: Dave Schram
WRITTEN BY: Maria Peters & Dick van den Heuvel
PRODUCED BY: Dave Schram, Maria Peters & Hans Pos
95 min, The Netherlands

DIRECTED BY: Katja von Garnier
WRITTEN BY: Kristina Magdalena Henn & Lea Schmidbauer
PRODUCED BY: Ewa Karlström & Andreas Ulmke-Smeaton
103 min, Germany

The nominations were chosen by a committee consisting of MARGRET ALBERS, Deutsche Kindermedienstiftung Goldener Spatz (Germany), MICHAL MATUS, Tel Aviv International Children’s Film Festival (Israel), JAN NASZEWSKI, New Europe Film Sales (Poland) and ESZTER VUOJALA, Oulu International Children’s Film Festival (Finland).

On Young Audience Film Day on 4 May, the three nominated films will be screened to audiences of 12 – 14 year-olds in 17 CITIES ACROSS EUROPE:

        * Aalborg (Denmark)
        * Barcelona (Spain)
        * Belgrade (Serbia)
        * Bratislava (Slovakia)
        * Budapest (Hungary)
        * Cluj-Napoca (Romania)
        * Erfurt (Germany)
        * Izola (Slovenia)
        * London (UK)
        * Prizren (Kosovo)
        * Riga (Latvia)
        * Sofia (Bulgaria)
        * Stockholm (Sweden)
        * Tbilisi (Georgia)
        * Tel Aviv (Israel)
        * Valletta (Malta)
        * Wroclaw (Poland)

And it is the young audience that will act as a jury and vote for the winner right after the screenings. In a truly European vote, jury speakers will then transmit the national results LIVE VIA VIDEO CONFERENCE to Erfurt (Germany) where the winner will be announced in an award ceremony STREAMED LIVE on yaa.europeanfilmawards.eu, a special website that offers further information about the nominated films and the participating cities.

This year’s third edition of the EFA Young Audience Award is realised with a network of the following partners: BFI British Film Institute,
Centre for Educational Resources (Denmark), DokuFest (Kosovo), EducaTIFF (Romania), Film Center Serbia, Filmoteca de Catalunya (Spain), German Children’s Media Foundation GOLDEN SPARROW, Hungarian National Film Fund, Maltese Ministry for Tourism (Culture Directorate), National Film Centre of Latvia, New Horizons Association (Poland), Noosfera Foundation (Georgia), Otok - Institute for the Development of Film Culture (Slovenia), Sofia International Film Festival (Bulgaria), Swedish Film Institute, Tel Aviv Cinematheque (Israel) and Visegrad Film Forum (Slovakia).

The European Film Academy Young Audience Award is organised and presented by the European Film Academy and EFA Productions with the support of the Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung (MDM). The national Young Audience Film Day events will be organised with the support of the respective national partners.


On the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the founding of the European Film Academy on 1 April 1989, EFA announced its decision to hold the 2016 European Film Awards in Wroclaw. The announcment was made at a press conference at the Wroclaw City Hall 640 days before Wroclaw will become European Capital of Culture in 2016.

Guests included EFA Director Marion Döring, executive producer Jürgen Biesinger, EFA Board Member Krzysztof Zanussi, the film composer Zbigniew Preisner, the director of the Polish Film institute Agnieszka Odorowicz, and Roman Gutek, European Capital of Culture film curator.

“Wroclaw has always been a very important place for Polish cinema. While remembering about our heritage, we want to create a new image of Polish cinematography,” said Rafał Dutkiewicz, Mayor of Wroclaw.



The European Film Academy is 25: on 1 April 1989, the organisation was founded in Berlin. The founding members were: Pedro Almodóvar, Lindsay Anderson, Theo Angelopoulos, Lord Richard Attenborough, Ingmar Bergman, Bernardo Bertolucci, Henning Carlsen, Liliana Cavani, Claude Chabrol, Silvio Clementelli, Jörn Donner, Federico Fellini, Stephen Frears, Claude Goretta, Isabelle Huppert, Erland Josephson, Krzysztof Kieslowski, Sir Ben Kingsley, Peter Lilienthal, Dušan Makavejev, Louis Malle, Giulietta Masina, Marcello Mastroianni, Jiři Menzel, Nikita Mikhalkov, Sven Nykvist, Manoel de Oliveira, Carlo di Palma, Lord David Puttnam, Fernando Rey, Eric Rohmer, David Rose, Hanna Schygulla, Jorge Semprun, Max von Sydow, István Szabó, Paolo Taviani, Vittorio Taviani, Mikis Theodorakis, Liv Ullmann, Andrzej Wajda, Wim Wenders and Krzysztof Zanussi.

The birthday cake was a surprise presented in Wroclaw!