FNE vodbanner460

DOC LAB POLAND Honoured With The EDN Award 2018

Press releases 2018-03-08


The 14th EDN Award is presented to Adam Ślesicki and Katarzyna Ślesicka from DOC LAB POLAND. They receive the award in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the development of the European documentary culture through their work in connection with the DOC LAB POLAND initiative.

Adam Ślesicki and Katarzyna Ślesicka receive the 2018 EDN Award for their work in establishing and running DOC LAB POLAND, which is the largest and most multi-faceted program for documentary filmmakers organized in Poland for Polish projects. The initiative supports auteur-driven creative documentary filmmaking and features a comprehensive program for the development of film projects. In addition to development support, DOC LAB POLAND also connects the European documentary industry to the Polish documentary scene, thereby making the strong creative tradition of Polish documentary more widely known and accessible.

With regards to the selection of DOC LAB POLAND for the 2018 EDN Award, EDN Director Paul Pauwels states: “In times where national authorities and state structures seem to care less about freedom of expression, democratic values and creative artists, it is essential that we have initiatives fighting for the rightful existence of the documentary genre as an artistic expression and cornerstone of our democratic society. It is important to have organisations that create European collaborations and bridges to other national industries, especially in times where political structures tend to focus more on national preferences. I therefore believe it is a logical step to recognize DOC LAB POLAND through the EDN Award 2018 for their outstanding contribution to the European documentary culture".

The award was presented to Adam Ślesicki at The EDN Award ceremony on March 6, 2018 during the Docs in Thessaloniki pitching forum organized by EDN in the framework of the Thessaloniki Documentary Festival – Images of the 21st Century.

About The EDN Award

The EDN Award is presented annually during Docs in Thessaloniki to an institution, group or private person for outstanding contribution to the development of the European documentary culture.

Previously The EDN Award has been presented to:

2017 - Nilotpal Majumdar In recognition of his outstanding contribution to the development of the international documentary culture

2016 - Marianne Lévy-Leblond For her development of interactive documentary at ARTE

2015 – Caspar Sonnen For his pioneering commitment to interactive documentary work

2014 – Tue Steen Müller For a lifelong commitment to the documentary genre

2013 – Stefano Tealdi and Joan Gonzales For initiating and running Documentary in Europe and DocsBarcelona, respectively

2012 – Diana El Jeiroudi, Orwa Nyrabia and The DOX BOX Team For initiating the DOX BOX festival in Syria

2011 – Dimitri Eipides Director of the Thessaloniki Documentary Festival

2010 – IRDFA - Iranian Documentary Filmmakers Association Director's guild in Iran focusing on documentary filmmakers

2009 – Nenad Puhovski and Zagreb Dox For initiating Zagreb Dox in Croatia

2008 – IDF – Institute of Documentary Film Prague based institute promoting documentary films from East- and Central Europe

2007 – Svetlana and Zoran Popovic For initiating and running Magnificent 7 in Belgrade, Serbia

2006 – The Jan Vrijman Fund Dutch film fund supporting filmmakers and festivals in developing countries

2005 – YLE Documentary The documentary department of YLE, the national public service broadcaster in Finland

EDN - European Documentary Network is a member-based organisation for professionals working with documentary film and television. The organization has around 1000 members from more than 60 countries. More about EDN - http://edn.network