Orly2020 460x100 filmneweruope FNE Animated Open2020

THE HOUSE – the winner of the 1st Krzysztof Kieslowski ScripTeast Award

Press releases 2011-02-13

Dear Sirs

It is our pleasure to inform you that the film “The House” by Zuzana Liová - the winner of the first edition of the Krzysztof Kieslowski ScripTeast Award for the Best Eastern and Central European Script will have a world premiere during the 61. Berlin International Film Festival. This Slovak- Czech co-production will be screened in the Berlinale Forum program.

This is the way that ScripTeast fulfills its goals, which is to select most interesting, already written projects by best authors of the region and to foster them into the world-class ones.

Director and scriptwriter Zuzana Liová was working on her project during the first edition of ScripTeast with Creative Advisors: Bernd Lichtenberg (author of internationally acclaimed “Good Bye Lenin”) and James Ragan (“The Deer Hunter” among others).

ScripTeast Advisory Board: Simon Perry, Agnieszka Holland, Antonio Saura, Manfred Schmidt and Dariusz Jabłoński awarded “The House” by Zuzana Liová for “creating a tender love story with the deep insight into the human nature, the story about youthful feelings and dreams, about complex family relationships and about the small world each of us lives in.”
"The House" is an intimate family drama. The story focuses on the conflict between two generations, their values, desires and dreams that can not be reconciled. The house is a source of the conflict – father, an unfulfilled architect is building it for his 17-year old daughter, wanting her to stay in his home town, while she wants to go away from there.

Winner of the second edition of this honorable award, the script by Hungarian Benedek Fliegauf "Womb", as a film directed by him, had premiere during last year's festival in Locarno, where it won the Junior Jury Award.

This year's Krzysztof Kieslowski ScripTeast Award laureate will be announced during the stationary session at the Cannes Film Festival in May 2011, which will close the fifth edition of the program. Then the next title will join laureates, these mentioned scripts: "The House" by Zuzana Liova awarded in 2007 and in 2008 "Womb" by Benedek Fliegauf (Hungary) and also in 2009 "Japanese Dog" Ioan Antoci (Romania) and 2010 "The Day of Chocolate" by Jack Piotr Bławut co-writen by Anna Onichimowska (Poland).

Four previous editions of ScripTeast have already resulted with eight produced films. Besides “The House” and ”Womb” they are: ”Tilt” written by Boris Chouchkov and Dimitar Koztev, directed by Viktor Chouchkov, “Retrace” written and directed by Judit Elek and Laszlo Berger, ”Run to Ground” written by Balazs Lovas, directed by Zsombor Dyga, ”Archeo” written and directed by Jan Cvitkovič, ”A Friend of Mine” written and directed by Mark Kivastik, “Vanishing Waves" directed by Kristina Buožytė, based on the script written by Kristina Buožytė and Bruno Samper.

We believe that soon we will have the pleasure to inform you about next produced titles and prizes for projects participating in the ScripTeast program.

Best regards

Dariusz Jabłoński Violetta Kamińska
Artistic Director of ScripTeast Managing Director of ScripTeast

Last modified on 2011-02-16