04-07-2013

FNE at KVIFF East of the West 2013: Adria Blues

By
"Adria Blues" explores the reality of contemporary post-Yugoslavia. "Adria Blues" explores the reality of contemporary post-Yugoslavia.

LJUBLJANA: Miroslav Mandić’s tragic-comedy, which has its world premiere on 4 July 2013 in East of the West Competition of Karlovy Vary IFF ( www.kviff.com ), looks at contemporary post-Yugoslavia through the story of a Bosnian rock star of the 80’s indulging himself into lack of ambition, depression and inactvity. 

“During the last two decades a number of films dealt with Bosnian and Croatian wars exposing deaths, rapes and other atrocities. However, there are numerous casualties of war that no one ever speaks about; disgusted by what was happening around them, many people gave up on whatever creative and relevant they have been doing prior to the war,” said the writer/director.

Toni Riff, the hero of Adria Blues (http://www.adriablues.com), came to Slovenia during the war and married his fan Sonia. Now she supports the family working as phone-sex operator. She is also the possible source of recovery from depression for her husband since one of her clients, a wealthy owner of a hotel named Adria, decides to finance a comeback concert starring the idol of his youth.

Adria Blues is produced by the Slovenian company Gustav Film (http://www.gustavfilm.si), Filmostovje (http://www.filmostovje.com/) and Senca Studio (http://senca-studio.si/) in collaboration with Slovenian Film Center (http://www.film-center.si/) which gave it a production grant of 600,000 EUR, Viba Film (http://www.vibafilm.si/), RTV Slovenia (http://www.rtvslo.si/), the Croatian company Propeler Film (http://www.propelerfilm.com/), and the Bosnian Sarajevo Center for Contemporary Art.

Frenk Celarc, Miroslav Mandic and Ida Weiss are producing. Boris T. Matić and Amra Bakšić Čamo are coproducing, and Frenk Celarc is executive producer.

This is Mandić’s second feature as a director following Zivot radnika (1987), co-written by Emir Kusturica, two documentaries and a TV series, and numerous TV series, TV movies and features as a writer. Adria Blues will hit domestic screens in September 2013.

Trailer
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h-XvlcEZWng


Production Information
Gustav film
Stegne 7, SI-1000 Ljubljana
Phone: +386 1( 0)590 31 995
Fax: +386 1 (0)590 31 996
www.gustavfilm.si
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Filmostovje
Petkovškovo nabrežje 29
1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
www.filmostovje.com

Senca Studio
Zavod za kulturne dejavnosti
Knezova ulica 2
1000 Ljubljana
Phone: 386 (0) 1 59 949 342
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
senca-studio.si

Credits
Director: Miroslav Mandić
Script: Miroslav Mandić
DoP: Jure Černec
Editor: Stanko Kostanjevec
Sound design: Samir Fočo
Set design: Matjaž Pavlovec
Costumes: Emil Cerar
Make-up: Alenka Nahtigal
Music: Aldo Kumar
Cast: Senad Bašić, Mojca Funkl, Peter Musevski, Gregor Zorc, Iva Babič, Maja Taraniš, Franjo Dijak, Branko Završan, Lotos Šparovec, Nataša Tič Ralijan, Jernej Čampelj, Inti Šraj, Valentina Plaskan