Hungarian Film Week ends with victory for Mundruczo


Kornél Mundruczó's Delta won the main prize for best feature film at Hungarian Film Week in a year that most critics said was dominated by Hungarian documentaries. In his acceptance speech, Mundruczó described Delta as a breakthrough for him. Offers from international festivals are rumoured to be already pouring in

Hungarian Film Week opened on Jan. 29 and closed with the naming of the awards on Feb. 5.

Prizes of the 39th Hungarian Film Week

Feature Films:

Main Prize (Golden Reel): Delta By Kornél Mundruczó

Best Director: Elemér Ragályi for Without Mercy

Best Genre Film (Moziverzum Prize): The Investigator by Attila Gigor

Best Cinematography: Gergely Pohárnok for The Hourglass and Milky Way

Special Jury Prize: Benedek Fliegauf for Milky Way

Best First Film (Simó Sándor Prize): The Adventurers by Béla Paczolay

Best Actress: Ági Gubik for Panic

Best Actor: Zsolt Anger for The Investigator

Best Screenplay: Attila Gigor for The Investigator

Best Original Music: Félix Lajkó for Delta

Best Producer: Dénes Szekeres for Without Mercy and The Sun Street Boys

Best Visual Design: Balázs Hujber for Overnight

Best Editor (Golden Scissors Prize): Zoltán Kovács for The Investigator

Best Sound (Golden Microphone Prize): Tamás Beke for Milky Way

Foreign Critics' Award (Gene Moskowitz Prize): Delta by Kornél Mundruczó

People's Choice (via Internet): Panic by Attila Till

Most Successful Hungarian Films in 2007:

Prize of the Association of Hungarian Cinema Exhibitors: Sos Love! by Tamás Sas

Prize of the National Radio and Television Board: Children of Glory by Krisztina Goda

Experimental and Short Films

Best Experimental Film: Own Death By Péter Forgács

Category Prize: Shock by Gerő Marcell

Best Short Feature Film: Weak Days by Ádám Császi

Category Prize: Let's Roll by Simon Szabó

Documentary Films

Best Documentary: Last Bus Stop by Zsuzsa Böszörményi and Kai Salminen

Creative Documentary Prize: I'm Von Höfler by Péter Forgács

Best Director: Kristóf Kovács for Full of Grease

Best Cinematography (ex-aequo):

Tóth Zsolt and András Salamon for Rhythm of the City

and Sándor Mohi for The Prayer

Best Creative Documentary Cinematography: Máthé Tibor for Another Planet

Equal Opportunities Prize: The Sinking Village by Márton Szirmai

Schiffer Pál Prize: Missing Pages for Richárd Schuster

Scientific Educational Documentary Films:

Best Scientific Educational Doc: On Gentle Threads by Judit Pócs and István Rittgasser

Best Director (ex-aequo):

Zsolt Marcell Tórt for On the Land of Watery Plains

and Török Zoltán for Otter Man

Best Cinematography: József Rák for The Kiss of Green Muses