FNE at Warsaw IFF 2019: Georgia's Shindisi Wins Grand Prix at 35th Warsaw Film Festival


    WARSAW: The Grand Prix of the 35th Warsaw Film Festival went to Georgia's Oscar submission Shindisi directed by Dito Tsintsadze at the closing ceremony on 20 October 2019.

    The International Competition Jury members, including Małgorzata Bela-Pawlikowska (Poland), Oana Giurgiu (Romania), Hanna Slak (Slovenia) Bujar Alimani (Albania) and Michal Leszczyłowski (Poland), gave the Warsaw Grand Prix founded by the City of Warsaw to Shindisi directed by Dito Tsintsadze. Tsintsadze also snagged the Best Director Prize. The Special Jury Award went to the Iranian drama A Hairy Tale directed by Homayoun Ghanizadeh.

    Move the Grave, a drama from South Korea directed by Seung-o Jeong, won the First Award in the 1-2 Competition. The main prize of the Documentary Competition went to Overseas, a Belgian/French coproduction directed by Sung-A Yoon, and the Short Grand Prix for the best short film was awarded to a French production Sororal directed by Frederic Even and Louise Mercadier.

    The Jury FIPRESCI members, including Anna Serdiukow (Poland), Victoria Smirnova (Russia) and Clementine van Wijngaarden (Netherlands), gave the award for best debut from Eastern Europe to the film Cat in the Wall directed by Mina Mileva and Vesela Kazakova, a coproduction between Bulgaria, the UK and France.

    Full list of winners:

    Warsaw Grand Prix, funded by the Capital City of Warsaw
    Shindisi (Georgia)
    Directed by Dito Tsintsadze
    Produced by 20 Steps
    Coproduced by Free Movie Studio
    Support by the Georgian National Film Center

    Best Director
    Dito Tsintsadze for Shindisi (Georgia)

    Special Jury Award
    A Hairy Tale (Iran)
    Directed by Homayoun Ghanizadeh


    Competition 1-2 Winner: First Award
    Move the Grave (South Korea)
    Directed by Seung-o Jeong

    Special Mentions

    All for My Mother / Wszystko dla mojej matki (Poland)
    Directed by Małgorzata Imielska
    Produced by Naima Film
    Supported by the Mazuria Film Fund, Pomerania Film, the Lower Silesia Film Centre

    The Forgotten (Ukraine, Switzerland)
    Directed by Daria Onyshchenko
    Free Spirit Award
    Lost Holiday (USA)
    Directed by Michael Kerry Matthews and Thomas Matthews

    Special Mention
    II (Two) (Belarus)
    Directed by Vlada Senkova


    Best Documentary Feature
    Overseas (Belgium, France)
    Directed by Sung-A Yoon


    Short Grand Prix
    Sororal (France)
    Directed by Frederic Even & Louise Mercadier

    Best Live Action Short
    Keep it Quiet (USA)
    Directed by Ilya Simakov

    Best Animated Short
    Why Slugs Have No Legs (Switzerland)
    Directed by Aline Höchli

    Best Documentary Short
    El Infierno (Spain)
    Directed by Raul de la Fuente

    FIPRESCI Award
    Cat in the Wall (Bulgaria, UK, France)
    Directed by Mina Mileva & Vesela Kazakova
    Produced by Activist 38, Glasshead Limited, Ici et Là Productions

    Young FIPRESCI Award
    Sister (Bulgaria, Qatar)
    Directed by Svetla Tsotsorkova

    Ecumenical Jury Award
    Omar and Us (Turkey)
    Directed by Maryna Er Gorbach&Mehmet Bahadir Er

    NETPAC Award
    Move the Grave (South Korea)
    Directed by Seung-o Jeong