FNE at Cannes 2017: Cannes Prize Winners: The Square Takes Palme d’Or

Written by
The Square by Ruben Östlund The Square by Ruben Östlund

CANNES: The 70th Cannes Film Festival held from 17 to 28 May awarded its top prize the Palme d’Or to The Square, a Swedish, German, French, Danish and USA coproduction directed by Ruben Östlund. The jury headed by Pedro Almodóvar also made a surprise special award for the 70th anniversary of Cannes to Nicole Kidman, who appeared in two competition films The Killing of a Sacred Deer and The Beguiled and two films screening out of competition, the season two of Top of the Lake and special screening How to Talk to Girls at Parties.

Poland’s young talent was on show with the Canal+ Award going to The Best Fireworks Ever by young director Aleksandra Terpinska. The Un Certain Regard Prize went to Lerd / A Man of Integrity, an Iran/Czech Republic coproduction directed by Mohammad Rasoulof and coproduced in the Czech Republic by Prague based MagicLab . The film was shot in Iran with the Prague based VFX and post production studio providing post-production.

The FIPRESCI International Critics awarded its top prize for best film in the main competition to BPM (Beats Per Minute) directed by Robin Campillo.

The FNE FIPRESCI Critics ratings chose the winning film The Square as the top rated film in the main competition. The FNE FIPRESCI Critics ratings for the main Competition, Certain Regard, Directors’ Fortnight and Critics Week can be seen HERE.


Palme d’Or
The Square (Sweden, Germany, France, Denmark, USA)
Directed by Ruben Östlund

Special Prize of the 70th Anniversary of Cannes Film Festival
Nicole Kidman

Grand Prix
BPM (Beats Per Minute) (France)
Directed by Robin Campillo

Best Director
Sofia Coppola for The Beguiled (USA)

Best Actor
Joaquin Phoenix for You Were Never Really Here (France, UK, USA)
Directed by Lynne Ramsay

Best Actress
Diane Kruger for In the Fade (Germany, France)
Directed by Fatih Akin

Jury Prize
Loveless (Russia, France, Germany, Belgium)
Directed by Andrey Zvyagintsev

Best Screenplay
The Killing of a Sacred Deer (Ireland, UK, USA)
Directed by Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou
You Were Never Really Here (UK)
Directed by Lynne Ramsay


Camera d’Or
Jeune femme / Montparnasse-Bienvenüe (France)
Directed by Léonor Serraille

Short Films Palme d’Or
Xiao Cheng Er Yue (China)
Directed by Qiu Yang

Short Films Special Mention
Katto (Finland)
Directed by Teppo Airaksinen

Golden Eye Documentary Prize
Faces Places / Visages Villages (France)
Directed by Agnès Varda, JR

Un Certain Regard

Un Certain Regard Prize
Lerd / A Man of Integrity (Iran, Czech Republic)
Directed by Mohammad Rasoulof

Best Actress
Jasmine Trinca for Fortunata
Directed by Sergio Castellitto

Best Poetic Narrative
Directed by Mathieu Amalric

Best Director
Taylor Sheridan for Wind River

Jury Prize
Las Hijas De Abril/ April’s Daughter
Directed by Michel Franco

Directors’ Fortnight

Art Cinema Award
The Rider (USA)
Directed by Chloe Zhao

Europa Cineams Label Award
A Ciambra (Italy, Brazil, USA.)
Directed by Jonas Carpignano

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers (SACD) Prize
Let the Sunshine In (France)
Directed by Claire Denis
Lover For a Day (France)
Directed by Philippe Garrel

Illy Short Film Prize
Back To Genoa City (France)
Directed by Benoit Grimalt

Critics Week Prizes

Nespresso Grand Prize
Makala (France)
Directed by Emmanuel Gras

France 4 Visionary Award
Gabriel and the Mountain (Brazil, France)
Directed by Fellipe Gamarano Barbosa

Leica Cine Discovery Prize for Short Films
Los Desheredados (Spain)
Directed by Laura Ferrés

Gan Foundation Award for Distribution
Gabriel and the Mountain (Brazil, France)
Directed by Fellipe Gamarano Barbosa

SACD Award
Ava (France)
Directed by Léa Mysius

Canal+ Award for Short Films
The Best Fireworks Ever (Poland)
Directed by Aleksandra Terpinska

Cinefoundation Prizes

First Prize
Paul Est La / Paul Is Here (Belgium)
Directed by Valentina Maurel Insas

Second Prize
Heyvan / AniMal (Iran)
Directed by Bahram and Bahman ARK
Iranian National School of Cinema

Third Prize
Deux Egares Sont Morts / Two Youths Died (France)
Directed by Tommaso Usberti

Parallel Sections Prizes


BPM (Beats Per Minute) (France)
Directed by Robin Campillo

Un Certain Regard
Closeness (Russia)
Directed by Kantemir Balagov

Directors’ Fortnight
The Nothing Factory (Portugal)
Directed by Pedro Pinho

Ecumenical Jury Prize
Radiance (France, Japan)
Directed by Naomi Kawase