FNE at TIFF Romanian Film Days: If the Seed Doesn’t Die

By Iulia Blaga

    BUCHAREST: If the Seed Doesn't Die (Dacă bobul nu moare) from Serbian-Romanian director Sinisa Dragin tells the story of two fathers, a Romanian searching for his daughter who was forced into prostitution in Kosovo and a Serbian seeking the body of his son killed in Romania, and a boatman who recounts the 200-year-old legend of Romanian peasants struggling to move an old wooden church up the hill. The three meet on the Danube river.

    The third feature of Sinisa Dragin (Everyday God Kisses Us on the Mouth/În fiecare zi Dumnezeu ne sărută pe gură and The Pharoh/Faraonul), If the Seed Doesn't Die (www.iftheseeddoesntdie.ro) is a co-production between Romania's Mrakonia Film and Dragin together with Austria's Wega Film (www.wega-film.at) and Veit Heiduschka, and with the support from the Romanian Ministry of Culture (www.cultura.ro), the Serbian Ministry of Culture (www.kultura.gov.rs), Eurimages (www.coe.int/t/dg4/eurimages), Romanian Television (www.tvr.ro), the Hubert Bals Fund (www.filmfestivalrotterdam.com/en/about/hubert_bals_fund) and the Romanian CNC (www.cncinema.abt.ro).

    The cast includes: Ioana Barbu, Simona Stoicescu, Dan Condurache, Alexandru Bindea, Mustafa Naderevic and Franz Buchrieser. The main shooting took place in 2006, with additional filming in 2008 and 2009. The budget is 1.3 million euro. The Romanian premiere is set for fall 2011.

    Production Information

    Mrakona Film

    14 Ciurea street, Sector 2

    Bucharest, Romania

    Phone: +40. 318.045.823

    Fax: +40.

    Wega Filmproduktionsges.m.b.h

    13 Haegelingasse

    A-1140 Wien, Austria

    Phone: +43.1.98 25 742

    Fax: +43.1.98 25 833


    This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


    Director: Sinisa Dragin

    Script: Sinisa Dragin

    DOP: Dusan Joksimovic

    Editing: Sinisa Dragin

    Petar Markovic

    Cast: Ioana Barbu

    Simona Stoicescu

    Dan Condurache

    Alexandru Bindea

    Mustafa Naderevic

    Franz Buchrieser