Anthony Dod Mantle wins Plus Camerimage top prize

By Plus Camerimage press department
    The winners of Plus Camerimage 2008, which recognizes excellence in cinematography, were announced in Lodz.
    16 competitive films were judged by the international Jury:
    • Pierre Lhomme - Jury President (cinematographer - Cyrano De Bergerac, The Matter of Resistance, King of Hearts, My Man, The Savage)
    • Gabriel Beristain (cinematographer - K2, S.W.A.T., Blade II, Street Kings)
    • Stephen Goldblatt (cinematographer - Batman Forever, Pelikan Brief, Leathal Weapon, Prince of Tides)
    • Ryszard Horowitz (photographer working in the USA. His works are exhibited all over the world)
    • Nicola Pecorini (cinematographer - Las Vegas parano, The Brothers Grimm, Tideland, The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus)
    • Steven Rosenblum (editor - Braveheart, Legends of the Fall, X-Men, The Last Samurai )
    • Juan Ruiz Anchia (cinematographer - Spartan, Confidence, Glengarry Glen Ross, The Jungle Book )
    • John Toll (cinematographer - The Thin Red Line, Vanilla Sky, Braveheart, Tropic Thunder )
    • Nigel Walters (cinematographer - Queer as Folk, Silent Witness, Marple: The Murder at the Vicarage, Saigon Baby)
    The Plus Camerimage 2008 Golden Frog went to Anthony Dod Mantle for the cinematography on SLUMDOG MILLIONAIRE.

    The Plus Camerimage 2008 Silver Frog went to César Charlone for the cinematography on BLINDNESS.

    The Plus Camerimage 2008 Bronze Frog went to Rainer Klausmann for the cinematography on THE BAADER MEINHOF COMPLEX.


    Students Etudes were judged by:
    • Brad Silberling- Jury President (director, producer, writer - City of Angels, Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events, Moonlight Mile, 10 Items or Less)
    • Monty Montgomery (producer, writer - Portait of a Lady, Wild at Heart, The Loveless)
    • Sue Gibson (cinematographer, President of BSC, The Forsyte Saga, Mrs Dalloway, Hear my Song)
    • Lilly Kilvert (production designer - Legends of the Fall, The Last Samurai, Siege)
    • Karl Walter Lindenlaub (cinematographer - Independence Day, Rob Roy, Jackal)
    Laszlo Kovacs Student Award - Golden Tadpole Plus Camerimage 2008 was granted to Aurelian Pechmeja, cinematographer of Dear Mom, to Read If I Don't Wake Up, INSAS, Belgium

    Plus Camerimage 2008 Silver Tadpole was granted to Bartek Cierlica, cinematographer of The Gravediggers, PWSFTViT, Poland

    Plus Camerimage 2008 Bronze Tadpole was granted to Nadav Hekselman, cinematographer of Roads Tel Aviv University Film & TV Department, Israel

    Additional Awards were presented in the Student Etudes Competition:

  • Association of Polish Filmmakers (Stowarzyszenie Filmowców Polskich) granded the Award of 3000 USD to Aurelian Pechmeja (INSAS, Belgium), the winner of Laszlo Kovacs Student Award - Golden Tadpole.

  • The Light for the Arts - OSRAM Company Award for a creative use of light in a film. The award of PLN 10,000 was granted to Bartek Cierlica the cinematographer of The Gravediggers , PWSFTViT, Poland

  • PANAVISION granted the Special Award for Best Picture Technique in Student Film Competition to Teppo Högman , cinematographer of High Hopes , TAIK, Finland. The honourable mention went to Bartek Cierlica the cinematographer of The Gravediggers , PWSFTViT, Poland.


    The films presented within the competition were judged by:
    • Don McAlpine - Jury President (cinematographer - Moulin Rouge!; Romeo + Juliet; Predator; Tempest)
    • Michael Barrett (cinematographer - You Don't Mess With The Zohan; Bobby; Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang)
    • Remy Chevrin (cinematographer - Love Songs; Monsieur Ibrahim; My Wife Is an Actress)
    • Gavin Finney (cinematographer - St. Trinian's; The Flying Scotsman; Keeping Mum; Alex & Emma)
    • Kramer Morgenthau (cinematographer - Dogtown; Fracture; Empire)
    • Gyula Pados (cinematographer - Fateless; Kalandarok; Control; The Duchess)
    • Tom Stern (cinematographer - Changeling; Letters from Iwo Jima; Mystic River)
    The Award for the Best Film in the Polish Film Competition went to cinematographer Jacek Petrycki and director Kasia Adamik for BOISKO BEZDOMNYCH (Offsiders).


    The Jury judging the films was comprised of:
    • Billy Williams - Jury President (cinematographer: On Golden Pond, Women in Love, Gandhi)
    • Hermann Barth (Creative Director of DOK.FEST, the International Munich Documentary Film Festival)
    • Michael Chapman (cinematographer: Taxi Driver, Raging Bull, The Fugitive)
    • Cesar Charlone (cinematographer: City of God, The Constant Gardener)
    • Bogdan Dziworski (cinematographer, director and photographer, renowned documentalist)
    • Michael Neubauer (Managing Director of bvk, documentalist and author)
    • Magdalena Szczawińska (On-Air Creative Director Discovery Networks Central Europe)
    The Plus Camerimage 2008 Golden Frog of Documentary Film went to Glauco Bermudez for the cinematography on EX-VOTO FOR THREE SOULS.


    Films were judged by:
    • Sławomir Idziak - Jury President
    • Daniel Pearl
    • Fred Murphy
    • Marcel Zyskind
    The Jury Award went to Julius A. Onah . The audience chose Monika Kotecka's film.


    The Main Prize of the Music Videos Competition went to Kasper Tuxen Anderson for cinematography on Dave Gahan's "Kingdom"

    The Audience Award went to Aaron Stewart-Ahn and Shawn Kim for cinematography on "I Will Possess Your Heart" by Death Cab For Cutie


    Cineman's Internet theatre has been presenting the Retrospective of the Awarded Student Etudes - Camerimage 1997 - 2007. The best film chosen by the internet users was announced at the Closing Ceremony. The winner is T-REX, 2003, cin. Konrad Spyra.


    During the 16th Plus Camerimage several special awards were presented. The recipients are:
    • Pierre Lhomme - Lifetime Achievement Award
    • Alan Parker - Lifetime Achievement Award to Director with Unique Visual Sensitivity
    • Andrzej Żuławski - Lifetime Achievement Award to Polish Director with Unique Visual Sensitivity
    • Edward Kłosiński - Award for the Contribution to the Art of Cinematography Kazimierz Karabasz - Award for Outstanding Achievements in Documentary Filmmaking
    • Viggo Mortensen - Award to the Actor with Unique Visual Sensitivity
    • Isabelle Huppert - Krzysztof Kieślowski Award
    • Jeremy Thomas - Award to the Producer of Visually Outstanding Films
    • Arthur Max - Award to the Production Designer with Unique Visual Sensitivity
    • Pietro Scalia - Award to the Editor with Unique Visual Sensitivity