The Film New Europe Association is main networking platform of professionals in the Central and Eastern Europe and Baltic region. The FNE Association board is made up of the heads of the most important film institutions in the region. The webportal Film New Europe with its FNE Daily newswire was chosen as the main tool to achieve the network’s objectives: FNE is the sharing of know how, visibility of regional cultural diversity and finally the voice of the region.  FNE is also a pan-European connection for the region and has partnerships and activities with the main pan-European film institutions based in Western Europe.

Chair of the Association - Nataša Bučar
Executive Council: Michal Bregant and Dariusz Jablonski

FNE Association Members: 

  • Bosnia & Herzegovina: Elma Tataragić, Melina Alagic, BiH Producers Association
  • Bulgaria: Peter Todorov Acting Director of the National Film Center of Bulgaria
  • Croatia: Christopher Peter Marcich, Croatian Audiovisual Centre
  • Cyprus: Elena Christodoulidou/Cyprus Ministry of Culture and Education
  • Czech Republic: Michal Bregant: National Film Archives
  • Estonia: Edith Sepp: Director: Estonian Film Institute
  • Georgia: Georgian National Film Center
  • Hungary: Csaba Káel, the Head of the National Film Institute - Hungary
  • Malta: Johann Grech, Malta Film Commission
  • Montenegro: Aleksandra Božović, Film Centre Montenegro
  • Latvia: Dita Reituma: Director: National Film Centre of Latvia
  • Lithuania: Laimonas Ubavičius: Director of Lithuanian Film Centre
  • North Macedonia: Vladimir Angelov, the Director of the North Macedonia Film Centre
  • Poland: Dariusz Jablonski (President Apple Films): Irena Strzalkowska: Deputy Director Tor Studios, Jacek Bromski President Polish Filmmakers Association.
  • Romania: Anca Mitran, Director, Romanian CNC
  • Serbia: Ivan Karl, Acting Director Film Centre Serbia
  • Slovakia: Marian Urban, Head of Slovak Producers Association, Rastislav Steranka, General Director of Slovak Film Institute
  • Slovenia: Nataša Bučar Slovenian Film Centre

Executive advisor to the FNE Assoc Council: Martin Smatlak
Legal Counsel: Vladimir Kroupa

Kozí 5, Staré Město
110 00 Praha
IČO 27015254

Honorary Advisory Board Members:

  • Andrzej Wajda - (Founding Member and Former Honourary Advisory Board Membera Polish film director. Recipient of an honorary Oscar, he is one of the most prominent members of the Polish Film School.
  • Eva Zaoralova – an artistic director of the Karlovy Vary IFF, an outstanding journalist and translator; for many years she was the Vice President of the FIPRESCI; she continues to be a member of many festival juries.
  • Jan Svěrák is the most successful Czech film director since the Velvet Revolution in 1989. The Oscar winner 1997 for “Kolya”.
  • Joël Chapron – a correspondent in France, responsible for central Europe for UNIFRANCE
  • Krzysztof Zanussi is one of Poland’s most honoured and important Polish producers and film directors
  • Martin Šulík is a repeatedly awarded Slovak film director
  • Juraj Jakubisko is arguably the most esteemed living Slovak film director; he was several times voted the most significant Slovak film maker ever, by both the critics and the audience.
  • István Szabó is both the best-known and one of the most critically acclaimed Hungarian film directors
  • Lajos Koltai is a Hungarian cinematographer and film director best known for his work with legendary Hungarian director Istvan Szabo, and Italian filmmaker Giuseppe Tornatore. He was nominated for an Academy Award in 2000 for his work on the film Malèna.
  • Šarūnas Bartas – one of Lithuania’s most prominent film directors.
  • Peter Aspden - is the Financial Times’ arts writer, and former arts editor for five years

FNE - COVID-19 Recovery

FNE - COVID-19 Reporting - Dossier


FNE Association Events 2019

FNE Association Events 2017


FNE Association Events 2016