Šterk’s Offside in postproduction

By Matevz Rudolf

    Igor Šterk (Ljubljana, Tuning, and Ekspres, Ekspres) has moved into post-production with Offside, with plans for a national premiere at the 12th Festival of Slovenian film in autumn 2009.

    German-French co-producer ZDF Arte came on board early in the production process. "Obviously the script attracted people abroad. Their support was very important because I can make the movie the way I wanted - choosing specific location and exceptional actors such as Igor Samobor, Silva Čusin, Labina Mitovska, Jana Zupancič, Gregor Bakovič and Pavle Ravnohrib," Šterk said. The film was shot in Ljubljana and along the Croatian coast.

    The story concerns a police inspector investigating an unusual case - the suspicious death of a man -- who develops an obsession with the case when he realizes it was suicide. He moves into the deceased man's apartment, digging through his life, getting involved with people who knew the dead man, and gradually taking over his identity. Šterk stated, "This is a film that starts as a police thriller and then continues as an intimate thriller -- a film where death is waiting to happen."


    Production Company: A.A.C. Productions (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)

    Co-production Company: Gustav Film (www.gustavfilm.si), Mogador Film, TV Slovenia (www.rtvslo.si), ZDF/ARTE (www.zdf-enterprises.de)

    Co-funding: Slovenian Film Fund (www.film-sklad.si), ZDF/ARTE (www.zdf-enterprises.de), MEDIA development (www.mediadevelopment.com)

    Director: Igor Šterk

    Screenwriter: Igor Šterk, Siniša Dragin

    Co-producer: Igor Šterk, Frenk Celarc, Christoph Thoke, Alexander Bohr

    Production Manager: Petra Vidmar

    Director of Photography: Simon Tanšek

    Music: TBA

    Film Editor: Petar Marković

    Set Designer: Nataša Rogelj

    Costume Designer: Katja Rosa

    Sound Re-recording Mixer: Julij Zornik

    Sound Recordist: Peter Žerovnik

    Makeup Artist: Gabrijela Fleischman


    Igor Samobor

    Labina Mitevska

    Silva Čušin

    Pavle Ravnohrib

    Gregor Baković

    Jana Zupančič