European Film Forum Tallinn 2021 showcases the launch of the Tallifornia film fund and future superstars of European virtual production & Artificial Intelligence for the film industry. 

The European Film Forum Tallinn, as the winter season's premier summit for innovation in the European audiovisual industry, returns to the Tallinn Nordic Hotel Forum on November 22, 2021, as part of the programme of Industry@Tallinn &; Baltic Event. The 2021 edition, "Readiness for Industry Renaissance 2.0" showcases the rising stars and innovators in virtual production, big data and artificial intelligence boosting film and content business in Europe.

One week left to apply to Kids Kino Lab scholarship programme for writers / script consultants and a young producer.

To give you some insight on what it is like to work with our tutors as their assistants, we asked Marie-Gabrielle Peaucelle and Emma Drost Jensen, our tutors assistants during Kids Kino Lab 2021 edition:

"Being an assistant to Philip LaZebnik at Kids Kino Lab was an incredible experience. I got to work on very different projects and learned many tools from Philip to analyze and give feedback on a treatment and a script. Besides, the various masterclasses that were given throughout the year either by other mentors or external guests were very rich. Finally, meeting all the participants from different countries, sharing ideas and experiences, was very thrilling. I really recommend to apply as an assistant, you will learn a lot, meet a lot of professional experts, caring to share their work and experience". - Marie-Gabrielle Peaucelle

The 29th edition of EnergaCAMERIMAGE International Film Festival may have ended, but that does not mean we should stop celebrating the art of cinematography in all its forms and varieties.

You have been flooding us with questions about the possibility of using our online platform after the festival, and here's our answer: will remain open till Dec. 19, 2021 (incl.)!

Main Competition

Joe Wright – Jury President (director, writer; Atonement, Darkest Hour, Cyrano)

Elen Lotman, ESC, IMAGO (cinematographer, director; Demons, My Dear Mother, Olga, Goodbye Soviet Union)

Anastas N. Michos, ASC, GSC (cinematographer; Man on the Moon, The Empty Man, The First Purge)

Martin Ruhe, ASC (cinematographer; Control, The Midnight Sky, The Tender Bar)

Lawrence Sher, ASC (cinematographer; Garden State, War Dogs, Joker)

The international short film and animation festival PÖFF Shorts announced the winners of its 2021 edition at the PÖFF Shorts Award Ceremony on Saturday, November 20.

The winner of the Best Live Action Short "Sunrise in My Mind" (dir. Danech San, Cambodia 2020) is now joining the list of films eligible for the short film Academy Award nomination.

The PÖFF Shorts European Film Academy candidate for the Best Short Film and the Rebels With A Cause winner will be announced on Saturday, November 27 at the Black Nights Film Festival closing ceremony.

Obraz zawierający osoba, wewnątrz, ściana, grupaOpis wygenerowany automatycznieKids Kino Lab 2021, photo by Paulina Kurach

A total of 13 projects will participate in the 7th edition of the Kids Kino Lab script development workshop, which is aimed at developing feature-length film and series projects for young viewers. 

The projects will be developed under the guidance of script tutors Philip LaZebnik, Kirsten Bonnén Rask and Armin Prediger, with the producers simultaneously working on the development of their projects with Ronald Kruschak, producers’ tutor at Kids Kino Lab. 

WARSAW: The 2022 edition of Kids Kino Lab has selected 22 projects for the 7th edition of its script development workshop.

TALLINN: The Lithuanian project Troll Farm is the winner of the first edition of the co-financing market TV Beats Forum at Industry@Tallinn & Baltic Event, taking place 19 – 26 November 2021 at the Tallinn Black Nights Film Festival.


What's cooking?

  • Black Nights Discovery Campus offers year-round education for film professionals
  • Future to Film presents new promising film projects and the nominees of European Discovery Awards 2021
  • We've got the UK in Focus this year in partnership with the BFI
  • Check out the programme!
  • European Film Forum Tallinn: Readiness for Industry Renaissance 2.0
  • Get your online accreditation!

The 25th edition of the annual Ji.hlava IDFF closed its doors. The festival programme took on a hybrid form and presented 338 films and over 100 discussions. There were 5,698 accredited visitors and guests this year, and 85,000 viewers watched the films: more than 30,000 visitors in cinemas and almost 55,000 online viewers. The Inspiration Forum discussions, which are still accessible online, have had over 25,000 views.