44x100 filmeurope


PALIĆ: Twelve titles are competing in the Official Selection of the Jubilee 25th European Film Festival Palić, running from 14 to 20 July 2018.

LODZ: Thirty Polish short films are competing at the 8th Transatlantyk Festival in Łódź, running from 13 to 20 July 2018. The themes of this edition are Myself, Freedom, Rebellion and Motherland.

200 films from around the world in several hundred screenings, outstanding guests from the worlds of cinema and music, masterclasses by Sally Potter, Diane Warren, Dan Lebental, Annette Insdorf and Joanna Kos-Krauze. Extraordinary screenings in the exceptional surroundings of Culinary Cinema and Cinema in Bed. From Friday 13 July to Friday 20 July, the eighth Transatlantyk Festival takes place in Lodz, Poland.

Over the first six months of this year, national cinema in Lithuania has seen a significant rise in attendance, as evidenced by box office returns: ticket sales of Lithuanian films have almost reached 60% of last year’s total (€2.6 million, compared to €4.5 million in 2017), attracting 500,000 viewers (compared to 860,000 for the whole 2017). National cinema has also increased its share in theatre programming to unprecedented 28% of the market, a significant rise from 22% last year.

A petty criminal from Sweden, Danish “gold digger”, British journalist and an ISIL fighter, Russian rockers and a Columbian hit man – they all belong to the whole panoply of characters you will meet on Motovun’s screens: in exactly three weeks, Motovun Film Festival’s projectors will be started and yet another trip around the world in more than 100 films and 65 screenings will begin.

This year's MIDPOINT Feature Launch program had its final showcase during the Karlovy Vary IFF, helping to launch the career of 9 promising projects and their talented participants. Here are the highlights of the third module, Works in Development – Feature Launch.

This year’s Sarajevo Film Festival, August 10th to 17th, will feature a number of Croatian films and minority co-productions in various competition and non-competition programmes. Some of the films will be having their world premieres in Sarajevo. Furthermore, Croatian filmmakers will be participating in the industrial segment of the festival.

The 12th annual Talents Sarajevo, to be held in parallel with the 24th Sarajevo Film Festival, will host 61 prospective actors, cinematographers, directors, editors, film critics, producers and screenwriters from South Eastern Europe and South Caucasus. Among them are four Croatian professionals: Hrvojka Begović (actress), Hani Domazet (director), Katarina Prpić (producer) and Daria Keršić (screenwriter).

The Vitaly Mansky's documentary 'Putin's Witnesses' that won the Documentary Films Competition at the 53rd edition of the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival will have its Baltic premiere at the Riga International Film Festival (RIGA IFF) on October 23, the closing day of the competition programme ARTDOCFEST/RIGA. Tickets are already available for purchase through the rigaiff.lv website.

The Czech Film Fund announced the following grants on 11 July 2018.