The launch of a new film fund, which will provide in-kind grants for visual and sound post-production to documentaries originating in Central and Eastern Europe, was announced yesterday in Berlin.

    The Ji.hlava Film Fund will be open for submissions of mid-length or feature-length documentary and hybrid film projects at the production or post-production stage with expected premiere in fall 2017.

    The launch of the Ji.hlava Film Fund extends the wide range of industry activities organised by the Ji.hlava International Documentary Film Festival (Ji.hlava IDFF), which include the EMERGING PRODUCERS programme, Inspiration Forum, or Docu Talents @kviff.

    "We want to support remarkable and creative filmmakers and visual artists who have emerged in the recent years in the region, and help their films to succeed abroad," explains Marek Hovorka, Director of Ji.hlava IDFF.

    Selected projects will receive visual post-production services in the value of 11,000 EUR supplied by UPP and sound mixing services by Soundsquare in the amount of 5,000 EUR. The Ji.hlava IDFF will also provide the successful applicants with rough-cut feedbacks and tailored-made festival strategies for selected films, and interconnect the awarded filmmakers with sales agents, distributors, VOD platforms, institutions and universities. The Jihlava-based Center of Documentary Film offers test screenings and research-support for the film director's following projects.

    "We are primarily looking for projects with unique authorial style and a focus on contemporary and thought-provoking themes," adds Marek Hovorka.

    The deadline for applications is April 30, 2017 and the results of the call will be announced during the Docu Talents @kviff presentation in Karlovy Vary on July 4, 2017. Films will be selected by film professionals nominated by the Ji.hlava IDFF.

    "The project comes as a good complement to the Docu Talents @kviff, at which we traditionally present the most remarkable documentary projects from the region," says Jarmila Outratová, Head of Industry at Ji.hlava IDFF.

    The eligible countries are Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Serbia and Ukraine.

    More information is available here