Gambler Wins at Lithuanian Film Awards

    The Gambler (Lošėjas), director Ignas Jonynas The Gambler (Lošėjas), director Ignas Jonynas

    VILNIUS: Ignas Jonynas won the best director and best film awards for the Lithuanian/Latvian coproduction The Gambler (Lošėjas) at the seventh Lithuanian Film and TV Silver Crane Awards held on 2 May 2014.

    The debut full-length feature film by Jonynas was nominated in ten categories and won in six categories, including awards for best composer and best actor.

    The awards are presented by Lithuanian Film Academy.

    The awards ceremony was broadcast by Lithuanian National Television.

    The nominees and winners of the Silver Crane Awards were selected by leading cinema professionals: professor and member of the European Film Academy Gražina Arlickaitė; film and theatre director Giedrė Beinoriūtė; film, TV and theatre actor Juozas Budraitis; composer Gintaras Sodeika; and film theoretician Lukas Brašiškis.

    The Golden Crane Award for a distinguished filmmaker for lifetime achievement in Lithuanian filmmaking was presented tofilm actress Gražina Balandytė.         

    The complete list of winners follows:

    Best Feature film: The Gambler directed by Ignas Jonynas, producer Studio Uljana Kim (LT), Locomotive Production (LV)

    Best short film: The Queen of England Stole My Parents (Anglijos karalienė pagrobė mano tėvus), directed by Ernestas Jankauskas (Dansu)

    Best documentary film: Kenotafas, directed by Audrius Stonys, producer Studio Uljana Kim, Leitmotiv Production

    Best animation film: Neuklidinė geometrija, directed by Skirmantė Jakaitė and Solveiga Masteikaitė

    Best Director : Ignas Jonynas The Gambler

    Best script : Pranas Morkus , The Excursionist (Ekskursantė), producer Algirdas Šemeškevičius / Cinemark

    Best Cinematographer: Ramūnas Greičius ,The Excursionist

    Best Composer : Paulius Kilbauskas and Domas Trupinskas The Gambler

    Best Art Direction: Nerijus Narmuntas The Gambler

    Best actress: Anastasija Marčenkaitė, The Excursionist

    Best actor: Vytautas Kaniušonis, The Gambler

    Best supporting actress: Vesta Grabštaitė, Dog Days (Šuns dienos)

    Best supporting actor: Valentinas Novopolskis, Non Present Time (Nesamas laikas) (Just a Moment)

    Best editing director: Gintarė Sokelytė, Redirected

    Mastership Award: Artūras Pugačiauskas for Sound Design in The Gambler

    Crane Egg for Best Student Film: Galutinis tikslas, directed by Ričardas Marcinkus