FNE at Cannes IFF 2010: Winners of Krzysztof Kieslowski ScripTeast Award

By Anna Franklin
    CANNES: Polish scriptwriter Jacek Blawut has won the prestigious Krzysztof Kieslowski ScripTeast Award for his script The Day of Chocolate. The awards ceremony took place 19 May on the Plage des Palmes at Cannes IFF. Special Mention was also given to Czech scriptwriter Irena Hejdova for her script Memories of the Heart.

    Blawut who also received a prize of 10 000 Euros was selected from among 12 scripts by scriptwriters representing nine countries in Central and Eastern Europe who participated in the ScripTeast script development programme over the previous year.

    Blawut said: "ScripTeast has been wonderful. It's been great to have the opportunity to work on the script with good advisors and to make it better. It's a completely new script from what I started out with."

    ScripTeast participants work intensively together with their advisors on their scripts during three sessions in Poland, Berlin and Cannes during a nine month period.

    The Day of Chocolate is about how children react to the death of someone close and Blawut said: "I have a two year old daughter and I would like to know how to react when her grandmother dies one day. The script explores this."

    Blawut plans to also direct the film and his wife who helms Studio Filmowe Rabarbar (www.studiofilmowerabarbar.com) will produce. The couple is looking for an international coproducer and is already in talks with Scandinavian partners.

    ScripTeast (www.scripteast.pl) is headed by Violetta Kaminska together with founder and Independent Film Foundation helmer Dariusz Jablonski. It is organized by the Independent Film Foundation with the support of the MEDIA Programme of the European Union, National Centre for Culture in Poland, Polish Film Institute (www.pisf.pl) and Apple Film Production (www.applefilm.pl) in cooperation with the European Film Academy, Producers Network, ACE-Atelier du Cinema Euroepan,e-Talenta, Final Draft and festivals in Berlin, Cannes and Karlovy Vary.