Nominations Announced for UCIN Awards Gala

Aferim! by Radu Jude Aferim! by Radu Jude

BUCHAREST: Radu Jude’s Aferim!, Tudor Giurgiu’s Why Me? and Dan Chișu’s Bucharest NonStop are nominated for Best Film and the UCIN Trophy at the UCIN Awards Gala organised by the Romanian Filmmakers Union.

The gala celebrating the best productions in 2015 is to be held on 16 May 2016.

Academic and excellence awards awarded by the President of UCIN, as well as Special Awards, will be announced on stage at the gala.

The nominations were decided by a professional jury.


Best Film and UCIN Trophy:Bucharest Non Stop by Dan Chisu

Bucharest NonStop / Bucuresti NonStop (Romania)
Directed by Dan Chișu
Produced by DaKINO Production
Coproduced by Watch Me Productions

Why Me? / De ce eu? (Romania, Bulgaria, Hungary)
Directed by Tudor Giurgiu
Produced by Libra Film
Coproduced by Hai-Hui Entertainment, Chouchkov Brothers , Cor Leonis Films

Aferim! (Romania, Bulgaria, Czech Republic)
Directed by Radu Jude
Produced by Hi Film, Klas Film, Endorfilm, Mulberry Development
Why Me? by Tudor GiurgiuSupported by Eurimages, Romanian National Film Center, Bulgarian National Film Center and the Czech Film Fund

Jury Special Prize:

Directed by Radu Jude

TV series The Right to Memory. Reasons for the Foundation of a Museum of Communism in Romania, in Bucharest / Dreptul la memorie. Argumente pentru înființarea unui muzeu al comunismului în România, la București
Directed by Ruxandra Țuchel, Cristina Rădulescu, Roxana Chiriță
Produced by TVR

Self-portrait of a Dutiful Daughter / Autoportretul unei fete cuminți (Romania)
Directed by Ana Lungu
Produced by Mandragora

Best Director:

Corneliu Porumboiu for The Treasure / Comoara (Romania, France)
Directed by Corneliu Porumboiu
Produced by 42 Km Film
Coproduced by Les Films Du Worso and Rouge International
Supported by Romanian National Film Center

Dan Chișu for Bucharest NonStop

Tudor Giurgiu for Why Me?

Best Script:

Tudor Giurgiu, Loredana Novak for Why Me?

Dan Chișu for Bucharest NonStop

Radu Jude and Florin Lăzărescu for Aferim!

Best Cinematography:

Marius Panduru for Aferim!

Daniel Kosuth for The World Is Mine / Lumea e a mea (Romania)
Directed by Nicolae Constantin Tănase
Produced by Libra Film
Coproduced by deFilm

Viorel Sergovici Jr. for Love Is a Story/ Poveste de dragoste (Romania)
Directed by Cristina Iacob
Produced by Zazu Film

Best Costumes:

Ana Ioneci for The Cork Justifies the Means / Dopul scuză mijloacele (short film)
Directed by Mihai Ionescu

Dana Păpăruz for Aferim!

Oana Păunescu for Live (Romania)
Directed by Vlad Paunescu
Produced by Castel Film
Supported by the CNC

Best Art Direction:

Augustina Stanciu for Aferim!

Cristian Niculescu, Andrea Szelyes for Why Me?

Mihnea Mihăilescu The Cork Justifies the Means

Best Leading Actress:

Rodica Lazăr for Carmen (Romania)
Directed by Doru Nițescu
Produced by Filmex Film România
Supported by the CNC

Ioana Flora for Scor Alb (short film)
Directed by Marius Olteanu

Hilda Peter for Box (Romania, Germany, France)
Directed by Florin Șerban
Produced by Fantascope
Coproduced by Augenschein Filmproduktion, MPM Film
Supported by the CNC

Best Leading Actor:

Toma Cuzinfor The Treasure

Emilian Oprea for Why Me?

Teodor Corban for Aferim!

Best Supporting Actress:

Ioana Flora for Back Home / Acasa la tata (Romania)
Directed by Andrei Cohn
Produced by Family Film
Coproduced by Mandragora

Olimpia Melinte for Bucharest NonStop

Andreea Vasile for Why Me?

Best Supporting Actor:

Alexandru Potocean for There Is Nothing in This World /Nu există-n lumea asta (short film)
Directed by Andreea Valean

Andi Vasluianu for Back Home

Gheorghe Ifrim for Bucharest NonStop

Best Editing:

Dana Bunescu for Carmen

Cătălin Cristuțiu for Aferim!

Tudor Pojoni for Bucharest NonStop

Best Soundtrack:

Cristian Tarnovețchi for Bucharest NonStop

Andre Rigaut, Matthias Lempert for Box

Florin Tăbăcaru for Back Home                                                          

Best Original Music:

Cristian Lolea for Carmen

Alexander Bălănescu for The Magic Mountain / Muntele magic

Marius Leftărache for The Chosen One / Cel ales (Romania)
By Cristian Comeaga
Produced by Domino Film
Supported by the CNC

Best Short Film:

Mihai Ionescu for The Cork Justifies the Means

Andrei Crețulescu for Ramona

Andreea Vălean for There Is Nothing in This World

Best Long Documentary:

Anca Damian for The Magic Mountain

Alexandru Solomon for Romania: Four Countries / România: patru patrii

Oana Giurgiu for Aliyah DaDa

Best Short Documentary:

Claudiu Mitcu for Rețeaua

Marian Voicu for Torna, torna, fratre! The Aromanians Story Told by Themselves /Torna, torna, fratre! Povestea aromânilor spusă de ei înșiși

Violeta Gorgos for Lume, ia-mă în brațe, eu vin

Best Animated Film:

Matei Branea for Omulan!

Ion Octavian Frecea for Christmas Carol / Colinda

Ștefan Scărlătescu, Andrei Scărlătescu for Thankfulness /Recunoștință

Best TV Documentary:

Matei’s Paris / Parisul lui Matei
Directed by Andreea Știliuc

TV series The Right to Memory. Reasons for the Foundation of a Museum of Communism in Romania, in Bucharest
Directed by Ruxandra Țuchel, Cristina Rădulescu, Roxana Chiriță

Lume ia-mă în brațe, eu vin
Directed by Violeta Gorgos

Opera Prima Award:

Carmen by Doru Nițescu

Back Home by Andrei Cohn

The World Is Mine by Nicolae Constantin Tănase

Best Make-up:

Bianca Boeroiu, Astrid Weber for Box

Petya Simeonova, Bianca Boeroiu for Aferim!

Dana Roșeanu for Carmen

Best Stunt:

Mihaela Oros, Răzvan Gheorghiu for Scorpion King IV
Directed by Mike Elliott

Gabriel Burlacu, Valentin Vasilescu for the TV series Shadows / Umbre produced by HBO Europe

Deliu Ionescu, Valentin Vasilescu for Bon voyage