FNE at Ji.hlava IDFF 2020: Slovak Director Viera Čákanyová Wins Top Prize at Ji.hlava IDFF

    White on White by Viera Čákanyová White on White by Viera Čákanyová

    JIHLAVA: White on White by Slovak director Viera Čákanyová won Best Film in the Opus Bonum international competition of the 24th Ji.hlava IDFF, which continues online through 8 November 2020. The award-winner was selected by the sole juror of the Opus Bonum section, Azerbaijani director Hilal Baydarov.

    The Best Film prize in the Between the Seas competition for films from the CEE region went Latvian Coyote by the Latvian director Ivars Zviedris.

    Bosnia and Herzegovina's director Farah Hasanbegović took the Short Joy award for best short film with First Birthday after the Apocalypse, a prize which is selected by online viewers via the DAfilms online platform.

    Festival director Marek Hovorka gave the Contribution to World Cinema Award to the Chinese artist/activist Ai Weiwei, stating, “When searching for the language to address people, Ai Weiwei discovered documentary cinema. He was able to step out of the shadow of his art projects, and using his experience with the world of visual arts he transformed his films into an instrument of social-political communication that is still a part of the art medium. Films by Ai Weiwei are a powerful testimony about his personal courage, both in his role of an actor and an ‘observer’. His works are surprisingly visceral and have a deeply humanistic appeal.”

    The Audience Award will be announced at the close of the festival.

    Award winners:

    Opus Bonum

    Best Film
    White on White (Czech Republic, Slovakia)
    Directed by Viera Čákanyová

    Special Mention
    A Man Leaning (France)
    Directed by Olivier Dury, Marie-Violaine Brincard

    Between the Seas

    Best Film
    Latvian Coyote (Latvia)
    Directed by Ivars Zviedris
    Produced by Dokumentālists
    Supported by the National Film Centre of Latvia

    Special Mention
    The Last Image (Austria)
    Directed by Judith Zdesar

    Best Student Film
    Time Is (Belgium, Russia)
    Directed by Zaur Kourazov

    Czech Joy

    Best Film
    A New Shift (Czech Republic)
    Directed by Jindřich Andrš

    Special Mention
    Wolves at the Borders (Czech Republic)
    Directed by Martin Páv

    Student Jury Award
    Traces of a Landscape (Czech Republic, Italy)
    Directed by Petr Záruba

    First Lights

    Best Debut Film
    Ghosts: A Long Way Home (Portugal)
    Directed by Tiago Siopa

    Special Mention
    A House (France, Switzerland)
    Directed by Judith Auffray

    Student Jury Award
    A House (France, Switzerland)
    Directed by Judith Auffray


    Best Experimental Film
    We Are Without (Austria, New Zealand)
    Directed by SJ. Ramir

    Special Mention
    Baroque Femina (Nr. 7-11) (Hungary)
    Directed by Péter Lichter

    Best Czech Experimental Film
    Catastrophe (Czech Republic)
    Directed by Zbyněk Baladrán

    Special Mention
    Sparkly shiny brightly see, kaleidoscope grows from ears (Czech Republic)
    Directed by Tereza Chudáčková, Klára Ondračková

    Special Mention
    Nobody needs to know about this, he said (Czech Republic)
    Directed by Ester Grohová

    Short Joy

    Best Short Film
    First Birthday After the Apocalypse (Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary)
    Directed by Farah Hasanbegović


    Best Film Testimony
    Oeconomia (Germany)
    Directed by Carmen Losmann

    Special Mention
    Vivos (Germany, Mexico)
    Directed by Ai Weiwei

    Contribution to World Cinema Award
    Ai Weiwei

    Silver Eye Awards

    Best Film
    A New Shift (Czech Republic)
    Directed by Jindřich Andrš

    Best Short Film
    Son of the Streets (Poland, Lebanon)
    Directed by Mohammed Almughanni

    Special Mention
    To Feather, to Wither (Hungary)
    Directed by Hanna Hovitie

    Audience Award