Shooting begins on The Temptation of St. Tony

By FNE Staff
    Venice winner Veiko Ounpuu has begun shooting on his second feature film, The Temptation of St. Tony, in Estonia.

    The shooting period will last until November 30 and take place in various locations around Estonia: Tallinn, Saaremaa, and East-Virumaa. Ounpuu's first feature, Autumn Ball, was the Venice Orizzonti Award winner in 2007.

    Ounpuu's original script tells of Tony, a man who has reached the younger phase of middle age and the more prosperous phase of the income bracket, causing him to start to ponder questions of morality. Unfortunately, the aggregate is not suitable for such ethical questions, Tony's nerves get frayed and he looses his material wellbeing.

    The film is produced by Katrin Kissa (Homeless Bob Production/Estonia) with Kristina Aberg (Atmo/Sweden) and Tero Kaukomaa and Jesse Fryckman (Bronson Club/Finland) on board as co-producers.

    The director of photography is Mart Taniel, who received an award for best cinematography at the Transylvania IFF for his work on Ounpuu's debut film (among numerous other awards won by the film.) Also on the film's artistic crew is set designer Markku Patila from Finland, who designs films for Aki Kaurismaki.

    The lead is played by Estonian actor Taavi Eelmaa, who played the coatroom attendant in Autumn Ball. He is joined by Ravshana Kurkova (Russia), Tiina Tauraite, Sten Ljunngren (Sweden), Denis Lavant (France), Rain Tolk, Moeno Wakamatsu (Japan) and others.

    Ounpuu's project was awarded the "European Talent Award" at the Cannes film festival.

    The film has a budget of 1 million euros and is supported by the Estonian Film Foundation, the Estonian Ministry of Culture, the MEDIA program, Eurimages, the Swedish Film Institute, the Finnish Film Foundation, and YLE.
    The Temptation of St. Tony will premiere in Estonian cinemas in the Fall of 2009.

    Director: Veiko Ounpuu
    Producer: Katrin Kissa (Homeless Bob Production/Estonia)
    Co-producers: Kristina Aberg (Atmo/Sweden); Tero Kaukomaa, Jesse Fryckman (Bronson Club/Finland)
    Director of Photography: Mart Taniel
    Composer: Ulo Krigul
    Sound design: Janne Laine (Finland)
    Set design: Markku Patila (Finland), Jaagup Roomet
    Costumes: Jaanus Orgusaar, Helen Ehandi, Aldo Jarvsoo
    Cast: Taavi Eelmaa, Ravshana Kurkova (Russia), Tiina Tauraite, Hendrik Toompere jr, Sten Ljunngren (Sweden), Denis Lavant (France), Rain Tolk, Katariina Lauk, Harry Korvits, Evald Aavik, Moeno Wakamatsu (Japan) and others.