FNE at BIAFF 2011: Georgian fest launches industry meetings


    BATUMI: The 6th edition of the Batumi International Art House Film Festival (http://biaff.org) (17-24 September 2011) kicks off today in the Black Sea resort city with Woody Allen’s Midnight in Paris. The festival is backed by the Georgian National Film Center (www.gnfc.ge) and the Polish Film Institute (www.pisf.pl) as well as the city of Batumi. This year will feature among other events a selection of films from the Andrzej Wajda Film School. Over 20 countries are represented each year.

    This year for the first time BIAFF will launch its industry meeting (21-23 September 2011) where participants will include the European Film Academy, H. Balls Fund Rotterdam Film Festival, EAVE, Andrzej Wajda Film School and the Polish Film Institute.

    BIAFF 2011 program outline: For full list of programme lineup see www.filmneweurope.com festivals section

    International Feature Films competition

    International Doc Films Competition

    International Short Films Competition

    Silk Road Section (Turkey, Iran, Caucasus, Central Asia etc.)

    German Cinema

    Georgian Cinema

    Master’s Collection

    Meet the Jury

    Master classes and Workshops arranged by guest film makers

    BIAFF 2011 Jury

    BIAFF 2011- International Feature Film Competition Jury

    1. Head of Jury - Georgy Dulgerov, Film director, Bulgaria

    1. Dariush Mehrjui, Film director, Iran

    2. Olena Fetisova, Producer, Ukraine

    3. Ira Kormannshaus , Film critic , Germany

    4. Gogi Gvakharia, Georgia

    BIAFF 2011 - International Doc Film Competition Jury

    1. Head of Jury - Pawel Pawlikoski, Film director, UK

    2. Rossitsa Valkanova, Producer, Bulgaria

    3. Nasir Saidov, Film director, Tajikistan

    4. 5. Salome Jashi, Film director, Georgia

    BIAFF 2011 - International Short Film Competition Jury

    1. Head of Jury - Kristinna Trapp, Director of EAVE

    2. Rezo Chkhikvishvili, Actor, Geramny

    3. Elchin Musaoglu, Film director, Azerbaijan

    4. Mohammad Attebai, Producer, Iran

    5. Tamar Tatishvili, GNFC (Georgia)