Latvia Approves Convention on Cinematographic Coproduction


    RIGA: Latvian government approved the Council of Europe Convention on Cinematographic Coproduction on 28 November 2017. The National Film Center is in charge of its implementation. The Convention on Cinematographic Co-production came into effect on 1 October 2017.

    Sixteen countries signed the new convention so far: Cyprus, Greece, Malta, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Belgium.

    Norway, Slovakia, Sweden and the Netherlands have already ratified it.

    The convention replaces the previous one adopted by the Council of Europe in 1992 and addresses issues like the transition to digital technologies, various financing options and the differences between various types of films.