EU countries moving forward on digital TV switch


    The EU Commission announced that all member states but one are on target for a total switchover from analogue to digital TV by 2012.

    The exception is Poland, which will complete the switch by 2015. Romania has not yet detailed it plans to introduce digital TV.

    Poland, Cyprus and Slovakia are among five countries that will have digital TV available in 2010. The other member countries already offer digital TV.

    Estonia, Malta, and Slovenia will end analogue transmission by the end of 2010 at the latest. Cyprus, Czech Republic, Hungary, Lithuania, Latvia, Romania and Slovakia will switch off analogue TV by the end of 2012.