The Whistlers Wins Romanian Filmmakers Union Trophy


    BUCHAREST: Corneliu Porumboiu's The Whistler's / La Gomera received the Grand Prix and the Romanian Filmmakers Union (UCIN) Trophy at the 48th edition of the UCIN Gala, as well as the award for Best Film in 2019 from the Romanian Critics Association, which was announced during the same event.

    The Special Jury Prize went to Marona’s Fantastic Tale / Călătoria fantastică a Maronei directed by Anca Damian, and Tudor Giurgiu received the “Lucian Pintilie” Best Director Award for Parking.

    The UCIN Awards Gala was organised with the support of the Romanian Ministry of Culture and the Romanian Film Centre.


    Grand Prix and UCIN Trophy:
    The Whistlers / La Gomera (Romania, France, Germany)
    Directed by Corneliu Porumboiu
    Produced by 42 KM FILM
    Coproduction by Les Films du Worso, Komplizen Film, Arte Grand Accord
    Supported by the Romanian Film CentreEurimages, Arte France Cinéma, Film i Väst, Filmgate Films, Studioul de Creație Cinematografică al Ministerului Culturii Romania, in association with MK2 Films, Arte France, WDR

    Special Jury Prize:
    Marona’s Fantastic Tale / Călătoria fantastică a Maronei (Romania, France, Belgium)
    Directed by Anca Damian
    Produced by Aparte Film
    Coproduced by Cinema Public Films, Sacrebleu Productions, Minds Meet
    Supported by Eurimages, Romanian Film Centre (CNC), Creative Europe Programme – MEDIA, with the participation of Aide aux cinémas du monde – CNC, l’Institut Français, and with the support of the CNC (Création Visuelle et Sonore Numérique), la Région Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, la Région Nouvelle-Aquitaine, Strasbourg Eurométropole, la Région Grand Est, SACEM, Flanders Audiovisual Fund, Taxshelter.be, Shelterprod and ING Tax Shelter Incentive of the Belgian Federal Government

    “Lucian Pintilie” Best Director Award:
    Tudor Giurgiu for Parking (Romania, Spain, Czech Republic)
    Produced by Libra Film
    Coproduced by Tito Clint Movies, Evolution Films
    Supported by Romanian Film Centre, Czech Film Fund and Creative Europe

    Best Scriptwriter:
    Liviu Săndulescu, Bogdan Toma for Cărturan (Romania, Sweden)
    Produced by Mandragora
    Coproduced by Iadasarecasa, Film I Vast, Doppelganger AB
    Supported by Romanian Film Centre, Romanian Television (TVR), Shoot&Post Auditory Sweden

    Best Leading Actress:
    Roxana Lupu for Mary, Queen of Romania / Maria, Regina României (Romania)
    Directed by Alexis Sweet Cahill
    Produced by Abis Studio
    Supported by Romanian Film Centre

    Best Leading Actor:
    Radu Botar for The Cardinal / Cardinalul (Romania)
    Directed by Nicolae Margineanu
    Produced by Ager Film
    Supported by Romanian Film Centre

    Best Supporting Actress:
    Julieta Szönyi for The Whistlers / La Gomera

    Best Supporting Actor:
    Anghel Damian for Mary, Queen of Romania / Maria, Regina României

    Best Cinematography:
    Tudor Mircea for The Whistlers / La Gomera

    Best Editing:
    Roxana Szel for The Whistlers / La Gomera  

    Best Costumes:
    Ana Ioneci, Claudia Bunea for Mary, Queen of Romania / Maria, Regina României

    Best Art Direction:
    Nora Dumitrescu, Laura Russu for Mary, Queen of Romania / Maria, Regina României

    Best Soundtrack:
    Cristinel Sirli for Mary, Queen of Romania / Maria, Regina României

    “Adrian Enescu” Award for Original Music:
    Pablo Pico for Marona’s Fantastic Tale / Călătoria fantastică a Maronei

    Best Make-up:
    Nastasia Mateiu, Clara Tudose for Mary, Queen of Romania / Maria, Regina României

    Best Long Documentary:
    Timebox (Romania)
    Directed by Nora Agapi

    Best Short Documentary:
    Creativ (Romania)
    Directed by Ioana Grigore

    Best Short Fiction Film:
    Havana, Cuba (Romania)
    Directed by Andrei Huţuleac

    Best Animated Film:
    Sandals / Opinci (Romania)
    Directed by Anton Groves, Damian Groves

    Best TV Film:
    The Queen Mother Elena, The Queen of the Four Exiles / Regina Mamă Elena, Regina celor 4 exiluri
    Directed by Camelia Csiki

    “Alexandru Tatos” Opera Prima Award:
    Mo (Romania)
    Directed by Radu Dragomir
    Produced by Scharf Film
    Coproduced by Strada Film

    Cinematic Hopes Award:
    The Last Priest / Ultimul preot (Romania)
    Directed by Alma Buhagiar

    UCIN Academic Awards:
    Director and producer Dinu Tanase
    Director Constantin Vaeni
    Actor Florin Piersic

    Excellency Awards:
    Actress Tora Vasilescu
    Editor Melania Oproiu
    Director Radu Igazsag

    Excellency Diplomas:
    Animator Roland Pupăză
    Director Toma Enache

    UCIN President Award:
    Actress Dana Rogoz for Mo

    Critics Association Awards:

    Best Film:
    The Whistlers / La Gomera

    “Ion Cantacuzino” Award for Film Journalism:
    Mihai Fulger

    “George Littera” Award for Film Book:
    My Sister from Australia. Past Meetings with Irina Petrescu / Sora mea din Australia. Trecute întâlniri cu Irina Petrescu, written by Magda Mihăilescu
    Romanian Cinema Inside Out: Insights on Film Culture, Industry and Politics 1912-2019, coordinated by Irina Trocan