FNE at Istanbul FF 2014: Prize Winners

    33rd Istanbul Film Festival Award Ceremony 33rd Istanbul Film Festival Award Ceremony Fatih Küçük

    ISTANBUL: The top prize in the international competition at the 33 Istanbul Film Festival (5-20 April 2014) went to Blind directod by Eskil Vogt, a Norwegian film which has already won prizes in Sundance and Berlin earlier this year.

    The Polish film Papusza directed by Joanna Kos-Krauze and Krzysztof Krauze received a Special Jury Prize in the international competition. This year the festival also featured a special programme of Polish films and Polish guests sponsored by the Polish Film Institute and organised by the Adam Mickiewicz Institute as part of the official celebrations of the Turkish Polish Year of Culture.

    In the Turkish National Competition section the top prize went to Ben O Değilim / I Am Not Him directed by Tayfun Pirselimoğlu. The Golden Tulip Best Director Award in the National Competition went Onur Ünlü for his film İtirazım Var / Let’s Sin. The Special Prize of the Jury was awarded to He Bû Tune Bû / Once Upon A Time by Kazım Öz. The International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI) presented a plaque to writer, critic, translator, historian Giovanni Scognamillo for his contributions to film history. The presentation was given by distinguished Turkish film critic Alin Taşçıyan, president of the Turkish Film Critics’ Association (SİYAD) who was also recently elected as the president of FIPRESCI the International Federation of Film Critics.

    But the real buzz for Turkish film was the announcement during the festival that Turkish director Nuri Bilge Ceyhan’s latest film Winter Sleep which was not screening at the event had been accepted for the main competition in Cannes.

    The ninth edition of the annual industry for film professionals Meetings on the Bridge was also helf from 16-17 April 2014 under the umbrella of the festival. Project in development as well as panel discussions brought film professionals together from all over Europe with a number of projects singled out for awards.

    List of Prize winners:

    International Golden Tulip Competition Awards

    The Golden Tulip in memory of Şakir Eczacıbaşı for Best Fillm:

    Blind directed by Eskil Vogt (Norway)

    Special Jury Prize in the Golden Tulip International Competition

    Papusza directed by Joanna Kos-Krauze and Krzysztof Krauze (Poland)

    National Golden Tulip Competition Awards

    Golden Tulip Best Film

    Ben O Değilim / I Am Not Him directed by Tayfun Pirselimoğlu

    Golden Tulip Best Director Award

    Onur Ünlü for his film İtirazım Var / Let’s Sin

    Special Prize of the Jury

    He Bû Tune Bû / Once Upon A Time by Kazım Öz

    Best Actress

    Vahide Perçin for her performance in Ayhan Hanım

    Best Actor

    Serkan Keskin for his performance in İtirazım Var / Let’s Sin

    Best Screenplay

    Tayfun Pirselimoğlu for his screenplay for Ben O Değilim / I Am Not Him

    Best Director of Photography

    Ahmet Sesigürgil for his work in Silsile / Consequences

    Best Music ex aequo

    Ali Tekbaş, Serhat Bostancı, A. İmran Erin for their work for Were Denge Min / Come To My Voice


    Giorgos Komendakis for his work for Ben O Değilim / I Am Not Him

    Best Editing

    Reha Erdem for his work for Şarkı Söyleyen Kadınlar / Singing Women

    Seyfi Teoman Best Debut Film Prize

    Director Görkem Şarkan for Nergis Hanım / Mrs. Nergis

    Film Award of the Council of Europe (FACE)

    L’Image manquante / The Missing Picture directed by Rithy Panh.

    Special Mention in the Human Rights in Cinema Competition

    Trans X Istanbul by Maria Binder.

    FIPRESCI National and International Competition Prizes

    International Competition

    20,000 Days on Earth directed by Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard

    National Competition

    He Bû Tune Bû / Once Upon A Time directed by Kazım Öz

    Radikal Newspaper People’s Choice Awards

    International Competition

    Tom à la ferme / Tom at the Farm directed by Xavier Dolan

    National Competition

    Were Denge Min / Come to My Voice directed by Hüseyin Karabey

    Cineuropa.org Award

    Were denge min / Come to My Voice directed by Hüseyin Karabey

    Meetings on the Bridge Prize Winners

    Winners of the Film Development Workshop
    Out of the 88 applications to the Film Development Workshop in its seventh edition as part of the Meetings on the Bridge, 13 projects were chosen for participation by a jury of 10.

    The 13 projects in the Meetings on the Bridge - Film Development Workshop were as follows.

    16 / 16 - Melisa Önel
    Aşk ve Matematik / Love and Math (Can Evrenol)
    Balık / Fish (Eset Akçilad)
    (Gayrı-) Ahlaki / (Im-)moral (Hakkı Kurtuluş, Melik Saraçoğlu)
    Görülmüştür / Passed by Censor (Serhat Karaaslan)
    Hamarat Apartmanı / Hamarat Apartment (Hüseyin Karabey)
    Jarabulus / Jarabulus (Erdem Tepegöz)
    Körfez / The Gulf (Emre Yeksan)
    Kronoloji / Chronology (Ali Aydın)
    Parçalar / The Fragments (Rojda Akbayır)
    Reprodüksiyon / Reproduction (Atasay Koç)
    Senaryosuz / The Man Without a Scenario (Alpgiray M. Uğurlu)
    Sorgu / Interrogation (Hacı Orman, Sedat Yılmaz)

    The international jury comprising Jacqueline Ada (CNC), Sol Bondy (One Two Films), Konstantina Stavrianou (Graal), Robert Balinski (Polish Film Institute), Mehmet Demirhan (TRT), and Giovanni Robbiano (Mediterranean Film Institute - MFI) decided on the award winning projects.

    Works in Progress

    The projects selected in the Work in Progress of the Meetings On The Bridge are as follows:
    Cennetten Kovulmak / Fall From Eden (Director: Ferit Karahan, Producers: Ferit Karahan, Serdar Temel), Devir / The Circle (Director: Derviş Zaim, Producer: Derviş Zaim), Evdeki Yabancılar / Strangers in the House (Director: Dilek Keser, Producer: Özkan Yılmaz), Kumun Tadı / Sea Burners (Director: Melisa Önel, Producers: Yamaç Okur, Melisa Önel), Sev Beni / Sense of Sex (Director: Mehmet Bahadır Er, Producers: Olena Yeshova, Mehmet Bahadır Er)

    Dilek Keser’s project Strangers in the House which received 1000 VOLT Post Production Award by 1000 VOLT. The award, which consist of the online editing and all the sound processing of the film, was presented by Eda Arıkan, director of 1000 VOLT, to Dilek Keser.

    Turkish-German CoProduction Fund

    The 6 projects to be supported by the Turkish-German Co-Production Fund are as follows:

    - Derviş Zaim - Balık / Fish
    Co-Producers: Marathon Film (TR) Numan Acar Filmproduktion (DE)

    - Ilker Catak / Johannes Drucker - Spatkauf
    Producer: Rix Film (DE) Bulut Film (TR)

    - Orhan Eskiköy - Hayaller / Dreams
    Producer: Perişan Film / Una Film (DE)

    - Emre Yeksan - Orada / There Outside
    Producer: Yeksan Film / Kund chafter Produktion (DE)

    - Erkan Tahhusoğlu - Eşik / Verge
    Producer: Salar Film Prodüksiyon / Siyara Film Produktion

    - Axel Koenzen - Patara
    Producer: Axel Koenzen (DE) / Arti Films (TR)

    - Özgür Sevimli - İyilik / Goodness
    Producer: Yeni Sinemacılar (TR) / Bredok Film Produktion