New Horizons Studio+ awards announced

    New Horizons Studio+ awards announced photo by Michał Mroczkowski

    The 14th edition of New Horizons Studio+ took place from the 20th till 23rd of July during the 23. mBank New Horizons International Film Festival (20 - 30 July 2023).

    Organized by the New Horizons Association and Creative Europe Desk Poland, it consists of workshops and lectures on various aspects related to the project promotion and development.

    New Horizons Studio+ selects European director-producer pairs who are developing their first or second feature film. Emerging talents from Poland, Switzerland, Romania, Spain, Germany and Ukraine took part in the programme under the supervision of the following experts: Alvaro Vega (DobleSentido), Agathe Valentin (HanWay Films), Gabriele Brunnenmeyer (MIDPOINT Institute) and Joanna Solecka (Alphapanda Polska). 

    The New Horizons Studio+ program was completed with an open lecture on the opportunities and challenges of Artificial Intelligence use in the film production given by the special guest Nira Bozkurt. 

    The workshop program was concluded by a pitching contest. The participants had an opportunity to pitch their projects to an international jury. You can find the list of the awards and awarded projects below.

    • Two participating producers received a Special Mention Award which was a guaranteed visit and accreditation to the Connecting Cottbus. They are Patryk Sielecki from Poland and Robin Meisner from Germany.
    • FilmCamp awarded The Crack’s (Poland / Switzerland) director Katarzyna Iskra and producer Giacun Caduff with a month-long residency stay in Norway.
    • Niemcy – The Strangers (Germany) directed by Aart Steinmann and produced by Robin Meisner was awarded a Letter of Intent for TV distribution by CANAL+online.
    • Curtain (Ukraine) by Valeria Sochyvets, produced by Inna Lastochkina received the New Horizons Association / London Film Academy Main Award, which is a script consultancy sponsored by London Film Academy.

    Congratulations to the winners and thanks to all the participants, workshop partners and media partners: EAVE, MIDPOINT Institute, London Film Academy, CANAL+ online, FilmCamp, Romanian Cultural Institute, Embassy of Switzerland in Poland, Cineuropa, Film & TV Kamera and Film New Europe.