Festivals: Warsaw Film Festival gets an "A"

    The Warsaw International Film Festival has been promoted to the "competitive feature film festival" category, previously known as the "A" category, by FIAPF.

    The coveted ranking from FIAPF (the International Federation of Film Producers Associations) puts Warsaw in the same league as Cannes, Berlin, Karlovy Vary, Venice, San Sebastian, Locarno, Tokyo, Mar del Plata, Moscow, Montreal, Shanghai, and Cairo.

    The news comes just in time for the Warsaw festival's (www.wff.pl) 25th anniversary.

    The festival, which runs October 9-18, has selected the following films for its international competition:

    Tales from the Golden Age


    The Last Days of Emma Blank

    The Dark House


    Men on the Bridge

    The Passion of Gabriel

    One for the Road



    Last modified on 29-11-2009