FNE at Let’s CEE FF 2014: Ilmar Raag’s I Won’t Come Back Wins Top Prize

Magdalena Zelasko, Wolfgang P. Schwelle, Una Gunjak, Robert Menasse Magdalena Zelasko, Wolfgang P. Schwelle, Una Gunjak, Robert Menasse Credit Alex Halada

VIENNA: Estonian director Ilmar Raag’s I Won’t Come Back won the top prize of the feature film competition at the third edition of the Let’s CEE Film Festival which took place in Vienna 2-11 October 2014. Russian-Ukranian director Vitaly Mansky won the top prize for best documentary.

Headed by co-directors and founders Magdalena Zelasko and Wolfgang Schwelle the third edition of the festival made a big step forward this year screening 91 productions from Central and Eastern Europe this year as well as hosting nearly 100 guests with directors and producers from the region on stage to present their films to Viennese audiences.

Anna Franklin, editor-in-chief of Film New Europe and member of the documentary jury said: “The festival has quickly become the main window for Austria to the film culture of its neighbours. Let’s CEE is creating an important platform for regional cultural cooperation in Europe.”

Hungarian director and Oscar winner Istvan Szabo who was honoured with the „Stern der Urania“ for his life’s work at the festival’s opening ceremony said: „The founders of LET’S CEE not only honour people of my generation, but many aspiring young filmmakers as well. And this is really important.“

Full list of winners

Feature film competition:

Jury: Gunther Baumann, Gabrielle Kranzelbinder, Kurt Ockermuller

Main Prize:

I Won’t Come Back (Russia, Estonia, Finland, Belarus, Kazakhstan)
Directed by Ilmar Raag
Production: CTB Film Company, Amrion, Helsinki-filmi, Belarus-film, Kazakhfilm
Supported by EURIMAGES

Special Mentions:

White God (Hungary)
Directed by Kornel Mundruczo

Monument to Michael Jackson (Serbia, Germany, Macedonia, Croatia)
Directed by Darko Lungulov
Coproduced in Croatia by Propeler Film

Documentary Competition:

Jury: Andreas Horvath, Jerzy Palacz, Anna Franklin

Main Prize:

Pipeline (Russia, Czech Republic, Germany)
Directed by Vitaly Mansky
Coproduced in Czech Republic by Czech Television, Hypermarket Film
Supported by the Czech Film Fund

Special Mention:

Happily Ever After (Croatia, Netherlands)
Directed by Tatjana Božić
Coproduced in Croatia by Factum
Supported by Croatian Audiovisual Centre

Pelican in the Desert (Latvia)
Directed by Viesturs Kairiss
Produced by Locomotive Productions
Supported by Latvian National Film Centre

Short film Competition:

Jury: Clemens AAP Lindenberg, Robert Menasse, Nastya Velskaya, Elaine Umuhire

Main Prize:

The Chicken (Germany, Croatia)
Directed by Una Gunjak

Special Mentions:

Pandas (Czech Republic, Slovakia)
Directed by Matúš Vizár

The Execution (Romania)
Directed by Petra Szöcs

Kosherland (Germany, Latvia)
Directed by Pyotr Magnus Nedov

8 Months (Turkey)
Directed by Hüseyin Aydın Gürsoy