FESTIVALS: Two Bosnian Coproductions in Zagreb Fest Main Competition

    The Frog by Elmir Jukić The Frog by Elmir Jukić

    ZAGREB: Men Don’t Cry by Alen Drljevic is among the 13 films vying for the Golden Pram in the main competition of first and second films at the 15th Zagreb Film Festival, running 11-19 November 2017. The Frog by Elmir Jukic is also in the main section, screening out of competition as the closing night film. Both films are coproductions from Bosnia and Herzegovina.

    Men Don’t Cry, a coproduction from Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Slovenia and Germany, won a jury Special Mention in Karlovy Vary and represents Bosnia and Herzegovina in the Oscar competition for best foreign film. The Frog, a coproduction from Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Serbia, Croatia and Slovenia, won the Audience Award at the Sarajevo Film Festival.

    The festival, under the direction of Boris T. Matic, will have a special focus on Montenegro recognising the establishment of the Montenegro Film Center and a new energy in the film scene there. The festival also hosts an eight-day Industry Programme. Ten Croatian short films will compete in the festival’s Checkers section.

    The films in the main competition are:

    A Ciambra (Italy, US, France, Sweden)
    Directed by Jonas Carpignano

    Ali’s Wedding (Australia)
    Directed by Jeffrey Walker

    Custody (France)
    Directed by Xavier Legrand

    Disappearance (Iran, Qatar)
    Directed by Ali Asgari

    Foxtrot (Israel, Germany, France, Switzerland)
    Directed by Samuel Maoz

    God’s Own Country (UK)
    Directed by Francis Lee

    Hunting Season (Argentina, US, France, Germany, Qatar)
    Men Dont Cry by Alen DrljevićDirected by Natalia Garagiola

    Men Don’t Cry (Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovenia, Croatia, Germany)
    Directed by Alen Drljević
    Produced by Deblokada Sarajevo
    Coproduced by Iridium Film, Menderley Films, Produkcija Živa, Cineplanet

    Montparnasse Bienvenue (France)
    Directed by Leonor Serraille

    Pop Aye (Singapore, Thailand)
    Directed by Kirsten Tan

    The Charmer (Denmark, Sweden)
    Directed by Milad Alami

    The Divine Order (Switzerland)
    Directed by Petra Volpe

    Winter Brothers (Denmark, Iceland)
    Directed by Hlynur Palmason