PRODUCTION: The Clown Starring Lily Collins Currently Shooting in Georgia

    Georgia Georgia credit: Georgian National Tourism Administration (www.gnta.ge)

    TBILISI: Anthony Lucero’s feature film The Clown starring Lily Collins, Pål Sverre Hagen and Jean-Marc Barr is currently shooting in Tbilisi until October 2016. The Georgian company Misty Dawn is servicing. Romanian Marius Panduru (Aferim! by Radu Jude, Hi Film) is the DoP, while South African/American rock star Dave Matthews will create the soundtrack.

    The cast includes Holliday Grainger, Keti Mchedishvili, János Derzsi, Harry Treadaway, Stacy Martin, Nikola Djuricko and Nutsa Kukhianidze. The film is based on the poem The Clown by Anthony Lucero and follows a clown travelling through Europe together with his daughter and a small circus. Georgian newcomer Keti Mchedishvili plays the daughter and Pål Sverre Hagen is the clown. Most of the technicians are Georgian.

    Shooting started at the beginning of September 2016 and will wrap in October 2016. Most of the shooting takes place in Georgia. The film is produced by the American companies Hunter Image Media and St. Tisa. The producers are Thor Halvorssen and Anthony Lucero. Noshre Chkhaidze, Adam d'Arcy, Christine Harnos and Mariam Shevarnadze are coproducing and Ilene Feldman, Terrence Malick, Donald Ranvaud and Cameron Colby Thomson are executive producers. The budget is big for Georgia but small for the U.S.

    Since the launch of the cash rebate programme in Georgia at the beginning of 2016, several international projects were already shot in Georgia. They include two Indian productions and the German/Georgian/French coproduction My Happy Family (Polare Film Llc) by Nana Ekvtimishvili and Simon Gross, with a third Indian project in the pipeline.

    Director: Anthony Lucero
    Scriptwriter: Anthony Lucero
    DoP: Marius Panduru
    Music: Dave Matthews
    Production Design: Kote Japaridze
    Cast: Lily Collins, Pål Sverre Hagen, Holliday Grainger, Keti Mchedishvili, János Derzsi, Harry Treadaway, Stacy Martin, Nikola Djuricko, Nutsa Kukhianidze, Jean-Marc Barr