FNE Focus: Film Festivals in Georgia


    Batumi International Art-house Film Festival

    Batumi is a seaside city which presents an interesting international film festival, held for the 5th time in 2010. BIAFF is an annual event, one of the important cultural events in the country.

    The 5th Batumi International Art-House Film Festival was held on September 12 – 19, 2010 by the financial support of the Georgian National Film Center. This is the third year that BIAFF is financially supported by the GNFC.

    BIAFF hosted various special guests in different years, including:

    • Krzystof Zanussi, Jerzy Radziwilowicz, Jerzy Sturr (Poland) Jos

    • Stelling (Netherlands), Mikheil Kobakhidze, Nana Jorjadze, Irakli

    • Kvirikadze (Georgia) Manijet Hekmat, Pegah Ahangarani, Mohsen

    • Amirousafiri (Iran) Pawel Pawlikowski (Poland) and etc.

    2010 BIAFF programme:

    - Retrospective of short films by a famous Polish
    director Zbygnev Rybchinski

    - Retrospective of films by a famous Iranian
    director Abbas Kiarostami and his visit

    - The premiere of Otar Ioseliani`s new
    film “Chantrapas” and his visit

    - Master classes, Q & A, and the press conference
    with special guests

    - Retrospective of the film from USA (US
    Embassy is the supporter of the festival)

    - Retrospective of Iranian films.

    The festival screened approximately 50 full-length films; about 30 short films from 20-22 different countries screened in the young filmmakers’ section.

    BIAFF sections:

    - Competition of International Feature Films

    - International Documentary Films

    - Silk Road Countries (Turkey, Iran, Armenia,

    - German films

    - Georgian films

    - Masters’ Collection - films of famous directors

    - Meet the Jury – films directed by the jury

    - Young Filmmakers’ section (competition)

    BIAFF 2010 - The International jury- main competition:

    1. Zbignev Rybchinski – Filmmaker, Poland

    2.Judith Blackburn - Chicago Irish Film Festival Director (USA)

    3. Bojidar Manov - Film Critic, Bulgaria

    4.Nino Kirtadze - Filmmaker, Georgia

    5. Siddiq Barmak - Filmmaker, Afghanistan

    BIAFF 2010 - Young Filmmaker’s Section Jury:

    1. Head of Jury - Christopher Kamyszew (USA)

    2. Vasily Sigarev – Filmmaker, Russia

    3. Michael Brooke – Film Critic / journalist, UK

    4. Seifollah Samadian – Filmmaker / photographer, Iran

    5. Levan Koguashvili – Filmmaker, Georgia

    Winners of BIAFF 2010

    Main International Competition Jury members:

    Zbigniew Rybczyński (Poland) – Chairman
    Siddiq Barmak (Afghanistan), Judith
    Blackburn (USA), Nino Kirtadze (Georgia),
    Bojidar Manov (Bulgaria)

    awarded following prizes:

    • Grand Prix – Another Sky by Dimitri Mamulia, Russia, 2010

    • Best Feature Film – Nothing Personal by Urszula Antoniak, Netherlands / Ireland, 2009

    • Best Documentary Film – Enemies of the People by Rob Lemkin and Thet Sambath, Cambodia / UK, 2009 (Award goes to Thet Sambath)

    • Best Film Director – Agustí Vila for Mosquito Net, Spain, 2010

    • Best Actor – Eduard Fernández in Mosquito Net, Spain, 2010

    • Best Actress – Monique Imes in Precious by Lee Daniels, USA, 2009

    • Special Prize – Rabbit à la Berlin by Bartosz Konopka, Poland / Germany, 2009

    • Special Mention – Insight by Gia Diasamidze, Georgia, 2010

    • Special Mention – There Are Things You Don't Know by Fardin Saheb Zamani, Iran, 2010.

    The Young Filmmakers Jury members:

    Christopher D. Kamyszew (USA) - Chairman, Michael Brooke (UK), Levan Koghuashvili (Georgia), Seifollah Samadian (Iran), Vassily Sigarev (Russia) granted following awards:

    • Grand Prix – Mother by Jakub Piątek, Poland, 2009

    • Best Film – Hanoi-Warszawa by Katarzyna Klimkiewicz, Poland, 2009

    • Best Film Director – Tornike Bziava for April Chill, Georgia, 2010

    • Jury Special Prize – No Song in Autumn by Karsten Prühl, Germany, 2009

    BIAFF Committee granted the following two Lifetime Achievement Awards in Cinematography to Zbigniew Rybczyński (Poland) and Abbas Kiarostami (Iran).

    International Film Festivals in Georgia:

    • Tbilisi International Film Festival, held annually in December, in Tbilisi (www.tbilisifilmfestival.ge)

    • Batumi International Art-House Film Festival, held annually in September, in Batumi (www.biaff.org)

    • International Festival of Animated Films “Topuzi”, held annually in October, in Batumi (www.adf.ge)

    • International Film Festival of Orthodox Films, held annually in October, in Batumi

    • International Student Film Festival “Amirani”, held annually in May, in Tbilisi