FESTIVALS: Greek/Polish Coproduction Pity Wins Herceg Novi Film Festival– Montenegro Film Festival

    Pity by Babis Makridis Pity by Babis Makridis

    HERCEG NOVI: Greek/Polish coproduction Pity, directed by Babis Makridis, was awarded Grand Prix and Golden Mimosa for Best Film in the main competition of the 32nd Herceg Novi Film Festival– Montenegro Film Festival, which wrapped in Herceg Novi on 7 August 2018. The Same by Serbian Dejan Petrović received the Golden Mimosa for Best Film in the Documentary Competition.

    Best Script Award went to the Romanian writer/director Radu Jude for I Do Not Care If We Go Down in History as Barbarians, while a Special Mention in the Feature Film Competition went to Lazy Guy/ Lijenština, directed by the Montenegrin Aleksa Stefan Radunovic. 


    Feature Films Jury Awards: 

    Grand Prix – Golden Mimosa for Best Film: 

    Pity (Greece, Poland)
    Directed by Babis Makridis
    Produced by Neda Film, Madants, Beben Films
    Coproduced by the Onassis Foundation, ERT SA, the Greek Film Center, Film Produkcja, Studio Produkcyjne ORKA, Foss 
    Supported by the Polish Film InstituteEurimages

    Golden Mimosa for Best Director:
    Keren Ben Rafael for Virgins (Israel)

    Golden Mimosa for Best Script:
    Radu Jude for I Do Not Care If We Go Down in History as Barbarians/Îmi este indiferent dacă în istorie vom intra ca barbari (Romania, Czech Republic, France, Bulgaria, Germany)
    Produced by Hi Film Productions
    Coproduced by endorfilm, Les Films d’Ici, Klas Film , Komplizen Film
    Supported by SEE Network, the Romanian Film Centre, Aide aux Cinémas du Monde, the Czech State Cinematography Fund, the Bulgarian National Film Center and Eurimages

    Golden Mimosa for Best Actor:
    Yannis Drakopoulos for Pity (Greece, Poland)
    Directed by Babis Makridis

    Golden Mimosa for Best Actress:
    Joy Rieger for Virgins (Israel)
    Directed by Keren Ben Rafael

    Živko Nikolić Award:
    Let the Corpses Tan/Laissez bronzer les cadavres (Belgium, France)
    Directed by Hélène Cattet, Bruno Forzani

    Special Mention:
    Lazy Guy/ Lijenština (Montenegro)
    Directed by Aleksa Stefan Radunovic

    FEDEORA Critics Jury Award:

    Comic Sans (Croatia)
    Directed by Nevio Marasović
    Produced by Kinorama
    Supported by the Croatian Audiovisual Center

    Documentary Jury Awards:

    Best Film Award, Grand Prix Golden Mimosa:
    The Same (Serbia)
    Directed by Dejan Petrović

    Jury Prize:
    Ionaș Dreams of Rain/Ionaș visează că plouă (Romania)
    Directed by Dragos Hanciu

    Special Mentions:
    The Summer at Ten (China)
    Directed by Chen Hao  


    Circle (India)
    Directed by Jayisha Patel  

    Student Film Selection Awards:

    Main Award:
    Home for Christmas (Croatia)
    Directed by Tomislav Djurinec

    1st Special Mention:
    Marica (Croatia)
    Directed by Judita Gamulin

    2nd Special Mention:
    Loop (Serbia)
    Directed by Matija Gluscevic

    Milan Zmukic Award (for the contribution to the festival and the development of the national cinema):
    Milena Dravic

    MINI PITCH 2018 @ Herceg Novi Film Festival– Montenegro Film Festival

    Main Award:
    Directed by Mladen Ivanovic

    Directed by Andrija Mugosa


    Directed by Sara Stijovic