FNE at LET’S CEE FF 2015: Prize Winners

    You Carry Me by Ivona Juka You Carry Me by Ivona Juka

    VIENNA: The 4th edition of the LET’S CEE Film Festival running from 1-11 October 2015 in Vienna awarded its top prize for Best Feature Film to Ivona Juka’s Croatian, Slovenian, Serbian and Montenegro coproduction You Carry Me. The award for Best Documentary went to The Queen of Silence (Poland) directed by Agnieszka Zwiefka.

    For the first this year a new competitive section, Most Promising Debut screened first films with the top prize for best debut for a feature film going to Hungarian director Gábor Reisz for For Some Inexplicable Reason.

    One of the industry highlights was the Focus on Austrian CEE Coproduction jointly organised by the FNE Association together with the Austrian Film Institute within the frames of the festival. The over-subscribed event was standing room only as more than 60 producers and representatives from film funds in Austria, Slovakia, Poland, Hungary, the Czech Republic and Slovenia converged on the conference hall of the Austrian Film Institute to hear presentations of the film funds in the region and discuss how to better integrate the film industries of Austria and its neighbours in the region. The Creative Europe Desk Austria-MEDIA was also a sponsor of the event.

    Following the event participants will be part of an online network to encourage coproductions and exchange information while a follow-up meeting in Bratislava is also planned based on the interest shown during the event.

    At the closing ceremony representatives of both the city of Vienna and the Austrian Filmmakers Association pledged their continuing support for LET’S CEE in 2016. Also at the closing ceremony a moving appeal was made by Austrian producer Ursula Wolschlager who was a member of the feature film jury to support refugees and the campaign For A 1000 Lives: Be Human

    LET'S CEE Winners 2015

    Feature Film Competition

    Best Film:

    You Carry Me (Croatia, Slovenia,Serbia, Montenegro, 2015, 155min.)
    Directed by Ivona Juka
    Produced by 4 FilmThe High Sun by Dalibor Matanić
    Coproduced by Vertigo/Emotionfilm, Sloan Film Production
    Supported by Croatian Audiovisual Center, Eurimages, Slovenian Film Center, FS Viba Film

    Honorable Mentions:

    The Fool (Russia)
    Directed by Yury Bykov

    The High Sun (Croatia, Slovenia, Serbia)
    Directed by Dalibor Matanic
    Body by Małgorzata SzumowskaProduced by Kinorama
    Coproduced by Gustav film  in association with SEE Film Pro

    Body (Poland)
    Directed by Małgorzata Szumowska
    Produced by Nowhere Sp. z o.o.
    Supported by the Polish Film Institute and HBO Poland

    Documentary Competition

    Best Film:

    The Queen of Silence (Poland)
    Directed by Agnieszka Zwiefka

    The Queen of Silence by Agnieszka ZwiefkaHonorable Mentions:

    Logbook Serbistan (Serbia)
    Directed by Želimir Žilnik

    The Invisible City (Latvia)
    Directed by Viestur Kairish

    Short Film Competition

    Best Film:

    The Same Blood (Belorussia)
    Directed by Mitry Semenov-Aleinikov

    Honorable Mentions:

    The Translator (Turkey)
    Directed by Emre Kayis

    Life With Herman H. Rot (Estonia, Croatia, Denmark)
    Directed by Chintis Lundgren

    Bright Future My Love (Serbia)
    Directed by Marko Zunic

    Promising Debuts  Modris

    Best Film:

    For Some Inexplicable Reason (Hungary)
    Directed by Gábor Reisz

    Honorable Mention:

    Down The River (Azerbaijan)
    Directed by Asif Rustamov

    Modris (Latvia, Greece, Germany)
    Directed by Juris Kursietis
    Produced by Red Dot Media

    Audience Award

    Aferim by Radu JudeAferim! (Romania, Bulgaria, Czech Republic)
    Directed by Radu Jude
    Produced by HiFilm
    Coproduced by s Klas Film, endorfilm , Mulberry Development
    Supported by the National Film Center (CNC), Bulgarian National Film Center and the Czech Film Fund

    Special Award for Best Actress

    Fatemeh Motamed-Arya for Nabat

    Nabat (Azerbaijan)
    Directed by Elchin Musaoglu

    Lifetime Achievement Award 2015

    Želimir Žilnik (Serbia)