FNE at Cyprus Film Days 2012: Winners

By Anna Franklin

    LIMASSOL: the 10th International Cuprus Film Days Film Festival awarded its top prize to Combat Girls by David Wnendt along with a 7000 EUR prize. The Special Jury Award and a prize of 2000 EUR went to the Romanian film Loverboy directed by Catalin Mitulescu.

    The Glocal Images Award and a cash prize of 1000 EUR went to Fish n Chips directed by Cypriot filmmaker Elias Dementriou. The film also won the audience award. The film was shot in Cyprus and tells the story of a Cypriot living in London who returns to Cyprus and opens a fish n chips shop on the island.
    During the closing ceremony Dementriou expressed his wishes that filmmaking in Cyprus would develop and that the government would support its filmmakers.

    The festival (www.cyprusfilmdays.com) was held from 20-29 April 2012 with screenings in both Limassol and Nicosia. The international jury consisted of Bulgarian filmmaker Rossitsa Valkanova, Greek Cypriot director Yiannis Economides and Kosovan actress Arta Dobroski.

    Full List of Winners:

    The Best Film Award accompanied by the amount of EUR 7000 was awarded to the film Combat Girls, by David Wnendt

    The Special Jury Award accompanied by the amount of €2.000 was awarded to the film Loverboy, by Catalin Mitulescu

    The Glocal images Award accompanied by the amount of €1.000 was awarded to ‘Fish n' Chips' by Elias Demetriou

    The Special Mention offered by Kodak Cinelabs Greece accompanied by film processing services worth of €5.000 was awarded to the Israeli film ‘Restoration' by Yossi Madmony.

    The honorary mention for his outstanding performance which gave a lot of heart and soul to the film ‘Fish n' Chips' was awarded to Cypriot actor Marios Ioannou.

    The other honorary mention for his fascinating and deeply emotional presence was awarded to actor Sasson Gabai for the film ‘Restoration'. The honorary mention was received by a representative of the Israeli embassy.

    The film ‘Fish n' Chips' by Cypriot director Elias Demetriou won the Audience Award.