Slovak DoP Denisa Buranová Wins Main Prize at CAMERA 2019


    BRATISLAVA: The main prize at CAMERA 2019, awarded by the Association of Slovak Cinematographers, went to Denisa Buranová for the feature film By a Sharp Knife directed by Teodor Kuhn, while Juraj Mravec received the award in the documentary category for Lost Home, that he also directed.

    The winners in seven categories were decided by an international jury chaired by Steve Gainer.

    CAMERA 2019 Slovak awardsThe competition comprised 133 audiovisual works, consisting of 18 feature films, 21 documentaries, 5 short films, 12 TV series, 39 commercials, 15 music videos and 23 student films.

    The competition was associated with a two days programme, which took place at the Lumiere cinema in Bratislava on 27 and 28 November 2019.

    CAMERA 2019 has been organised by the Association of Slovak Cinematographers every two years since 2003 and it is supported by the Slovak Audiovisual Fund and the Slovak Literary Fund.


    Main Prize – Feature Film:
    Denisa Buranová for By a Sharp Knife (Slovakia, Czech Republic)
    Directed by Teodor Kuhn
    Produced by nutprodukcia
    Coproduced by Madness Productions, RTVS and nutprodukce in cooperation with Home Media Production
    Supported by the Slovak Audiovisual Fund, the Slovak Literary Fund and the Czech Cinematography Fund

    TV Series:
    Tomáš Juríček for Maria Theresia (Germany, Austria, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary)
    Directed by Robert Dornhelm
    Produced by Beta Film, MR Film, Maya Production
    Coproduced by the Slovak RTVS, the Czech TV, ORF, Hungarian MTVA

    Juraj Mravec for Lost Home (Slovakia)
    Directed by Juraj Mravec
    Produced by All4Films
    Coproduced by RTVS and Punkchart films

    Short Film:
    Michal Babinec for Flora
    Directed by Javier Kuhn

    Audiovisual Commercial:
    Michal Babinec for Heroes of Today

    Music Video:
    Dušan Husár for Son Lux -Yesterday's Wake

    Student Film:
    Oliver Záhlava for Pura Vida
    Directed by Martin Gonda

    Lifetime Achievement Award:
    Richard Krivda

    Technological Contribution Award:
    Vlado Struhár