The Krzysztof Kieslowski ScripTeast Award 2010 winner has been announced!

    Yesterday, May 19th at 5pm, at Plage des Palmes in Cannes we got to know the winner of this year's

    Krzysztof Kieslowski ScripTeast Award for the best Central and Eastern European Script.

    By the decision of Advisory Board members: Sandy Lieberson, Manfred Schmidt, Antonio Saura, Dariusz Jablonski and ScripTeast Heads of Studies: Tom Abrams and Christian Routh, the Award was given to the script The Day of Chocolate by JACEK P. BŁAWUT (Poland)

    The Advisory Board explained their decision with the following statement:

    „This is a charming story that handles a seemingly difficult subject; how children react to death; with great sensitivity, and a vivid visual imagination. The script presents a bold and unusual family film that is rooted in a central European culture, but has the potential to entertain and enlighten a widespread international audience with its thoughtful approach and delightful characters."

    The author of the winning script received the statue by Adam Fedorowicz and 10,000 Euros prize money.

    The Advisory Board also decided to give the SCRIPTEAST 2010 SPECIAL MENTION Award to the script MEMORIES OF MY HEART by IRENA HEJDOVÁ (Czech Republic)

    „The writer has managed the very difficult task of transforming a complex narrative literary work into an accessible and emotionally powerful film screenplay. She has taken courageous decisions in adapting the format, and the result is a script that promises to hold the audience's attention from start to finish. She has also managed the considerable feat of making the reader feel that they can connect and identify with the convincing portrayals of the Mongolian characters presented in the exotic landscape of the story."

    The following scripts, representing 9 countries of Eastern and Central Europe have been competing for the prize:

    White Elephant, Maciej Wszelaki (Poland)

    THE Return, Maciej Pieprzyca (Poland)

    The Day of Chocolate, Jacek P. Bławut (Poland)

    The Judgment, Stephan Komandarev and Marin Damyanov (Bulgaria)

    RIDERS, Janis Vingris (Latvia)

    RADIOGRAM, Rouzie Hassanova (Bulgaria)

    Polystyrene, Zuzana Belková (Slovakia)
    Memories of My Heart, Irena Hejdová (Czech Republic)

    BURNED, Hanna Slak (Slovenia)

    How to Make Friends, Gábor Ferenczi and Can Togay (Hungary)

    Breaking News, Ana Agopian and Iulia Rugina (Romania)

    AURORA, Kristina Buožytė and Bruno Samper (Lithuania)

    A one-week session at Cannes focused on the promotion of the scripts amongst the European participants. It was supported in co-operation with the Producers Network (about 650 active producers accredited at IFF Cannes), and ACE (Atelier du Cinema Europeen), as well as meetings with representatives of the film funds and festivals.

    Since September 2009, the authors have been working on the scripts with help and advice from the Creative Advisors - Marc Caro, Chris Collins, Licia Eminenti, Robert Jones, Joelle Levie, Udayan Prasad, Jason Resnick, Antonio Saura, and Antonin Svoboda.

    ScripTeast is organized by Independent Film Foundation with the support of the Media Programme of the European Union, National Centre for Culture in Poland, Polish Film Institute and Apple Film Production,and in co-operation with the European Film Academy, Producers Network, ACE - Atelier du Cinema Europeen, e-Talenta, Final Draft and festivals in Berlin, Cannes and Karlovy Vary.

    For further information, please contact us on: www.scripteast.pl

    This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.; tel: +48 516 034 696